Thursday 20 June 2019

Revenge so sweet as Minors go through

The Championship 2019: Dublin 0-20 Wicklow 1-9

Dublin avenged last year's defeat to Wicklow with an 11-point win in Aughrim on Saturday.

Clann Mhuire's Alex Rogers, having returned from injury, played a central role for Dublin in the second half as they advanced to the semi-finals after fighting off a strong challenge from the home side.

Rogers would register two points in quick succession after the break to open a 12-point lead for the Metropolitans.

And it would prove an important contribution as Wicklow pulled out all the stops in the second half to get back in the game.

But for the second game in a row, keeper Hugh O'Sullivan was on hand to deny the opposition with a penalty save as Dublin prevailed to join Kildare, Westmeath and Laois in the last four.

There was nothing to separate the sides early, but a series of unnanswered points - including one from Fingal Ravens star Sean Kinsella - would see Dublin begin to open a gap approaching the end of the first quarter.

And a brace from Rogers, which formed part of a sevenpoint unanswered sequence, would see Dublin up by 0-12 to 0-3 at the break, with Fionn Murray hitting a number of scores from frees.

Rogers continued his fine form with two more after the break before Ben Mullins made an important stop to avert a Wicklow goal three minutes after the restart.

However, Wicklow continued to press, with a goal from Joe Prendergast on 49 minutes cutting the gap back to seven points. Four minutes later Wicklow were awarded a penalty, but O'Sullivan was on hand to keep out Matthew Ging's effort, with Conor Tyrell subsequently clearing off the line.

Wicklow continued to pressure Dublin, but the visitors' bench made a telling impact just as it seemed as if Wicklow might get something out of the game.

Ross Keogh (St Sylvester's) lifted the siege with a point and both Luke Curran and dual Star Luke Swan hit the crossbar in the dying moments as well as firing over points in injury time as Dublin continued their impressive run in the championship.

Dublin: H O Sullivan, C Tyrell, C Archer, J Lundy, B O'Dowd, K Conory, L Murphy-Guinane 0-1, S Forker, R O'Dwyer 0-3(0-2f), S Kinsella 0-1, F Murray 0-6 (0-3f, 0-1 '45'), , R Bolger 0-1, L Swan 0-1, A Rogers 0-4. Subs: T Brennan for Kinsella (36), R Keogh 0-1 for O'Dwyer (38), J Rooney for Lundy (43), L Curran 0-2 for Bolger (45), H Colclough for Murphy-Guinane (62).

Fingal Independent