Sunday 25 March 2018

Maur's edge out Mearnog in hard-fought minor clash

Rory Kerr

ST MAUR'S edged out Naomh Mearnóg in this hard-fought Minor A contest, played in Rush on Sunday morning.

The visitors, who are due to contest their Division 1 Final later on in the year, will have been disappointed that they didn't garner a result from their opening group game.

However, they played some lovely football over the course of the hour and certainly when they hit the ground running they posed the home side some degree of trouble.

On the day they came up against a Maur's side who in Jack Burke had a marksman of some repute. Burke has recently broken in to Alan Durnin's AFL1 squad and he was the main difference between the two on the day.

Equally, goalkeeper Mark Browne, another to taste Senior Division 1 football this season, grew in stature as the game wore on.

Mearnóg had opened up an early goal lead following successive points from wing forward Barry Sherman and Aaron Mulvey, but Maur's were to come good in the second quarter, with David Carty, Kevin Nugent and Burke all to the fore as the home side opened up a 0-7 to 0-5 lead.

Mearnóg, however, were to up the tempo after the break as the moved the ball patiently from the back to good effect.

A terrific score from wing back Eoin Shiels was arguably their best in a period which saw them eventually draw level through Denis Redmond mid-way through the half - 0-8 apiece.

However, Carthy was to pop up with a crucial score for Maur's soon after when, having cut in from the right touchlin,e he stroked over a point to edge Maur's back in front.

Dan Butterly then doubled Maur's lead off the kickout and although Mearnóg were to hit back with a point, the Rush lads were to hold on for their first group win of the championship.

St Maur's: Mark Browne, Padraig McGuinness, Fiachra Mackey, Luke Hosford, Adam Kenny, Gareth Weldon, Stephen Wilde, Dan Butterly 0-1, Adam Byrne, Jack Burke 0-7, Kevin Nugent 0-1, Jamie Farrell, Colm Halpin, Craig Fortune, David Carthy 0-1. Subs used: Eoin Connolly, Jack Higgins for Farrell, Seamus Harford, Liam McGuinness.

Naomh Mearnóg: Mark O'Connor, Andy Killeen, Conor Grant, Conan Byrne, Eoin Shiels 0-1, Luke Dowd, Jordan Briggs, Jamie Storey, Gabriel Dennehy, Barry Sherman 0-2, Shane Nangle, Aaron Mulvey 0-1, Meg Pargouya, Denis Redmond 0-3, Davy Stewart 0-2. Subs used: Darragh Scanlon, Matthew Shorthall.

Fingal Independent