Friday 15 December 2017

Kodaline scoop major European music prize

John Manning

SWORDS band, Kodaline have scooped the public choice award at the 2014 European Border Breakers Awards ('the EBBA Awards').

Kodaline were chosen from among nine other EBBA award recipients to emerge as the biggest winner of the night, following an online vote to select the 'best of the best'.

The Script (2009), James Vincent McMorrow (2012) and Dolores O'Riordan (2008) have previously received EBBAs.

The EBBAs highlight the best new music acts in Europe which have achieved cross-border chart success. The musicians were honoured this at the Eurosonic Noorderslag festival in Groningen (Netherlands).

Kodaline, who performed live at the show, are currently on a world tour which takes in The Netherlands, Switzerland, Germany, Canada, the United States, Ireland, the United Kingdom and Australia in the next few months following the success of their debut album, In A Perfect World.

Hosted by the British TV host and musician Jools Holland, the event was broadcast live via YouTube and will be screened on TV throughout Europe in the coming months.

Now in their eleventh year, the EBBA Awards aim to encourage artists to make the most of the Single Market by reaching audiences beyond their home country.

At the same time the awards highlight and promote the creativity and diversity of European music and its role in bringing people together and breaking down barriers.

The awards are organised by Eurosonic Noorderslag in partnership with the European Broadcasting Union and European radio stations.

Fingal Independent

Promoted Links

Promoted Links