Friday 20 April 2018

First-time glory

RATHGAROGUE-CUSHINSTOWN had a comprehensive win over Duffry Rovers in the Under18 Roinn 2 championship final played in Taghmon on Bank Holiday Monday.

Duffry Rovers never really got to grips with a strong Rathgarogue-cushinstown who went ahead five minutes from the start when a free taken by Elizabeth Martin-carroll ended up in the net.

Gina Foley added a point in the tenth minute before Elizabeth Martin-carroll did likewise. Joanne Dillon made it 1-3 to nil from a placed ball before the Duffry hit their sole score in the 25th minute when Rachel Casey goaled.

Another Gina Foley point made it 1-4 to 1-0 at the interval, and the leaders added 3-2 without reply in the second period.

Joanne Dillon was first to strike with a point before Foley goaled in the 37th minute.

Elizabeth Martin-carroll and Foley raised the third and fourth green flags while Denise Mcgrath had the last point for the superior victors.

County Chairperson, Martina Donnellan, presented the trophy to joint captains Sarah O'neill and Denise Mcgrath.

Rathgarogue-cushinstown: Shannon Scales, Aoife Scully, Aoibleadh Gaffney, Siobhán Creane, Sarah O'neill, Eimear Murphy, Joanne Dillon (0-2, 1 free), Elizabeth Martin-carroll (2-1), Aine O'brien, Denise Mcgrath (0-1) Gina Foley (2-2), Ciara Caulfield, Aoife Barron-byrne, Louise Bennett, Brenda Flynn, Emer Flynn, Teffia Hendrick.

Duffry Rovers: Sinéad Doyle, Alison Sinnott, Lizzie O'connor, Róisín Fitzhenry, Taragh Tobin, Jillian Stafford, Nancy Dunphy, Rachel Casey, Clodagh Fitzhenry (1-0), Shannon Casey, Róisín Murphy, Betsy O'connor, Aine Dunne.

Referee: Aidan O'brien (Cloughbawn).