Thursday 14 December 2017

Evered claims top scorer award for eighth time

THE ANNUAL top scorer and players of the year for each women's adult division were announced this week, with some well-deserved winners among the awards.

Ferns United's Liz Evered won top scorer in the Premier Division as she continued her excellent form in the league, having won this award on seven occasions in the past. Chantelle Martin from Adamstown has been declared winner of the Premier Division player of the year, a fitting winner as she has excelled since breaking onto the scene as a Raheen under-age player in 2002.

Charlotte O'keeffe from Shelbourne picks up the Division 1A top scorer, just pipping her clubmate Marcella Cullen by a couple of goals. Stephanie Gahan from St. Joseph's collected up the player of the year in that division, another player who has come through the under-age system in the league and was on the St. Joseph's Under-12 team which won the first schoolgirls title in 2002.

Wexford Celtic did the double in Division 1B and their player, Natasha Walsh, won the top scorer, while Courtown Hibs made up for the disappointment of losing the Boland Carpets Cup when Julie Ann Kinsella won the divisional player of the year.

Ann Carroll of New Ross Town did the double in Division 2B by collecting both the top scorer and player of the year to go with the league and cup double that her club won this season. Megan Murray from Camolin Celtic was the runaway winner of Division 2B top scorer, while Debbie Carton from Cloughbawn was the welldeserved divisional player of the year.

These players will be presented with their awards at a presentation night in mid-may, and all players will be notified with details in the coming days.

Promoted Links

Promoted Links