Tuesday 16 January 2018

Horeswood have edge

HORESWOOD HAD a comfortable win over Clonard in the 13-a-side Minor football Division 5 championship final played in ideal conditions at Grantstown.

If the winners had taken all of the scoring opportunities that came their way (12 wides over the hour), the margin would have been even greater.

Both teams were slow to settle and eight minutes had elapsed by the time Adam Roche secured the opening point for Clonard. It was two minutes later before Dale Flynn got Horeswood off the mark with a pointed free.

The winners' first goal arrived before the end of the opening quarter when a high ball in was stopped from going over the endline and their team captain, Jim Gleeson, was on hand to finish to the net. Dale Flynn was badly off target as the wides tally mounted for the New Ross District side, until Lee Norris at last found the range from far out with their second point. Dean Kehoe accounted for the second Clonard point just before the break, making it 1-2 to 0-2 at the changeover.

Substitute Michael Rowe and Dale Flynn, with a point each, increased the Horeswood lead within ten minutes of the resumption before Dylan Hynes got one back for Clonard.

Dale Flynn scored the second goal for the winners which effectively finished off the game with ten minutes still remaining, but Horeswood suffered a blow soon afterwards when referee Eric Molloy sent off Dean Stafford for a tackle on a forward racing through. Michael Rowe completed the Horeswood scoring with a late point.

Angela McCormack, representing Coiste na nOg Loch Garman, presented the cup to the Horeswood captain Jim Gleeson after the game and complimented both teams.

Horeswood: Kevin Murphy, Mark Nolan, Kevin Rowe, Modestus Macenas, Seán Stafford, Brian Kehoe, Lee Norris (0-1), Colin Nolan, David O'Shea, Dale Flynn (1-2, 0-1 free), Eric Banville, Jim Gleeson (1-0), Craig Murphy. Subs. - Michael Rowe (0-2) for Banville, Dean Kehoe for O'Shea, Michael Coyne for Gleeson, David Furlong for C. Murphy, also Adam Cooney, Keith Murray, Brian Norris, Aidan Parker, Jake Byrne.

Clonard: Stephen Cullen, Daniel White, Richard Cleary, Tony Hennessy, Eoin McDonald, David Tormey, Shane McDonald, Carthaigh Geoghegan, Ian McDonald, Dylan Hynes (0-1), Adam Roche (0-1), Alan Larkin, Dean Kehoe (01). Subs. - Dean Connolly for Kehoe, also Kevin Malone, Tyrone Kirwan, Michael Maguire, Tommy Walsh, Ciarán Kavanagh, Andrew McGuickian, John Tormey.

Referee: Eric Molloy (St. James').

Promoted Links

Promoted Links