Wednesday 17 January 2018

Tommy's golden run


Tommy McElwaine at the end of the Dublin City Marathon, and (inset) checking his time.
Tommy McElwaine at the end of the Dublin City Marathon, and (inset) checking his time.


VETERAN Ferns runner Tommy McElwain covered himself in glory at the Dublin City marathon by taking the gold medal in his age category in the AAI National Marathon championships, which coincide with the big event in the capital.

The time of just over 2 hours and 36 minutes posted by the Sliabh Buíodh Rovers man for the classic 26 miles distance put many younger rivals in the shade on the day, in his 14th outing in the marathon.

Six times a county cross-country champion, Tommy has made a speciality of long distance events, raising thousands of euro for good causes in the process. On this occasion, he was seven minutes shy of his personal best for the marathon but still fast enough to take the national crown in the M40 category.

He was the quickest of the dozen SBR athletes who took part, with Shane Whitty from Wexford, Boston native Jim O'Malley and Gorey man David Leonard also dipping under the three hour mark. Unfortunately, there was no glory for their clubmate Tom Hogan, who was obliged to limp out of the race around the 18-mile mark with an injury while on course for a scintillating 2:27.

Sliabh Buíodh club stalwart Billy Harpur, who has competed in every single Dublin City marathon to date, again completed the 26.2 miles, running a time of precisely 4:30:48.

Selection of Enniscorthy/ Ferns provisional returns from the 2012 Dublin City marathon: Men

Tommy McElwain (SBR) 2:36; Shane Whitty (SBR) 2:24; Jim O'Malley (Ferns) 2:53; David Leonard (SBR) 2:58; Mick Morrissey 3:07; Bobby Redmond and Paul Browne both 3:08; Fergus Murphy 3:12; Eugene Doherty (SBR), Seán Fortune (Ballyhogue), Ray Doyle and Pat Hyland all 3:14; Rory McCauley 3:15; John Foley (Ferns) 3:16; Brian Maher 3:21; Rob Moorhead 3: 22; Michael Murphy 3: 27; Stephen McGannon 3:36; Patrick Kinsella 3:38; Richie Lynch (SBR) 3:40; John Moorehouse and Paul Dempsey both 3:42; Brian O'Sullivan 3:43; Mark Kearney and Brian Kearney (both SBR) both 3:45; John Redmond and Seamus Jordan both 3:48; Patrick Kirwan (SBR) and Michael McDonald both 3:50; Colum Matthews 3:51; James Kinsella 3:56; Seanie Redmond (~SBR) and Billy Harris both 3:58; Ronan Fagan 4:00; Stephen Herbert (Adamstown) 4:03; Mark Kells 4:15; Eddie Kenny and Billy Harpur (Ferns) both 4:30; Niall Brophy and Stephen Ennis both 4:31; Joe Wogan 4:41; John Kennedy 4:42; Declan Brennan 4:48; Ciaran McSherry 6:02; Seamus Coleman 6:35 Women

Anna Bushe (SBR) 3:42; Martina O'Sullivan 3:49; Sabina Sweeney 3:38; Jean Mernagh 4:07; Marie Chapman 4:13; Margaret Dunphy 4:20; Mag Balfe and Margaret Sludds both 4:53; Marian Morrissey 4:55; Mairead Fenlon 5:24.

Promoted Links

Promoted Links