Friday 23 August 2019

Pupils' creativity rewarded in competition

Ellie Byrne, Rachel Foley and Jack Nolan, Courtnacuddy NS
Ellie Byrne, Rachel Foley and Jack Nolan, Courtnacuddy NS

Simon Bourke

A competition which asked Enniscorthy Primary School pupils to create their own original bookmarks attracted more than one thousand entries.

Part of the Wexford Literary Festival, the competition was run by Byrne's bookstores who were offering gift vouchers for the best entries.

Winners from each school were selected by an expert panel of judges before an overall winner was chosen. And, after careful deliberation, the winning entry was that of Anna McConville, a Sixth Class pupil from Marshalstown National School. She received a €50 gift voucher, the runner-up, Aoife Doyle also a Sixth Class pupil from Marshalstown, received a €20 voucher.

The winning school was St. Patrick's Special School, which received a €100 voucher for books. Discussing the impact of the competition and the benefits it brought to the children, Gary Martin of Byrne's Bookstore, said, 'It definitely helps to increase their interest in books, most of the kids used their gift vouchers to purchase books rather than toys in the store, they all went straight to the counter to purchase something after receiving the gift card.'

Each winning entry received a €10 gift voucher to spend in store.

The winners were:

Ballyhogue - Kaylee Martin (Junior Infants) Cathal O'Brien (3rd Class) Erin Jordan (6th Class)

St. Margaret's Curracloe - Madison Donovan (3rd Class) Eilis Moran (3rd Class)

St. Ibar's Castlebridge - Ryan Wilson (5th Class) Roisin Reynolds (3rd Class) Sara Hanton (3rd Class)

Galbally NS - Gavin Dunne (Senior Infants) Erin Walsh (2nd Class) Pixie Lou (2nd Class) Aaron George (5th Class)

Ballyduff NS - Andrew Fortune (2nd Class) Niamh Ryan (5th Class) Cliona O' Sullivan (4th Class)

Tombrack NS - Ella Moynihan (4th Class) MJ Davitt (Senior Infants) Nicole O' Leary (1st Class)

St Mary's Enniscorthy - Emily Deacon (5th Class) Zoe Fanning (2nd Class) Leah Fanning (3rd Class)

St Edan's NS - Orlaith Hill (6th Class) Noah Power (2nd Class) Elly Rynhart (Senior Infants)

St Patrick's Special School - Aoibheann Ni Thiannaigh (Senior Class) Nadine Carr (Junior 5) Ryan McGarr

CBS Primary Wexford - Donatas Badrys (4th Class) Shadhin Flynn (5th Class) Madisyn MK (2nd Class)

Marshalstown NS - Aoife Doyle (6th Class) Anna McConville (6th Class) Samuel Redmond (2nd Class)

Bree NS - Muireann Kehoe (Senior Infants) Gabrielle Fourie (4th Class) Riona Nic Eochaidh (4th Class) Noah Tyrell (3rd Class)

SNM Ferns - Orla Guinan (5th Class) Tavia Lawler (Senior Infants) Molly Redmond (3rd Class)

Courtnacuddy NS - Jack Nolan (3rd Class) Ellie Byrne (3rd Class) Rachel Foley (1st Class)

Glenbrien NS - Miacha Connolly (5th Class) Erin Carty (3rd Class) Luke Doyle (Senior Infants)

St. Iberius' NS - Naysa Hogg (5th Class) Glenda Walsh (3rd Class) Meadhbh McCarthy (Senior Infants)

Camolin NS - Keelin Whyte (3rd Class) Sreelakshmy Bino (6th Class) Martha Waugh (1st Class)

Clologue NS - Shauna Byrne (6th Class) Clodagh Dowd (6th Class) Kevin Doran (6th Class)

Davidstown NS - Molly Egan (Junior Infants)

St. Aidan's PS - Maddie Murphy (3rd Class)

St. Senan's NS - Ellen Cashman (5B) Hareem Fatima (2B) Kaylee Doyle (3B) Kian Curodh (1C) AJ Murphy (4A) Lily (SI)

Enniscorthy Guardian