Wednesday 23 October 2019

FCJ honours students for academic excellence

Brendan Keane

Students in FCJ Bunclody were honoured last week at the school's annual beginning of year mass and awards ceremony.

Retiring Principal, Frances Threadgold, informed those in attendance that this year's leaving certificate results surpassed expectations with almost 16.5 per cent of students getting 500 points or higher with 8.5 per cent getting over 550 points.

'Equally worthy of praise were the many students with special educational needs who, with the help of support and extra tuition, did themselves proud and have gone on to further education with confidence,' Ms Threadgold told those in attendance.

She remembered loved ones who had passed away since the last school mass in May but also focussed attention on new beginnings with staff members getting engaged, getting married and giving birth.

Ms Threadgold praised all of the students receiving awards and spoke of the positive contribution they made to life in the school.

This was particularly true of the leaving certificate award recipients who have gone on to third level college.

The first aspect of the awards ceremony saw Meitheal badges being presented to the school's Meitheal leaders: Neil Kidd; Ciaran Nolan; Paraic Nolan; Fionn O'Muiri; Andrew Skelly; Riona Byrne; Geri O'Connor; Emily Power; Ciara Roban; Annmarie Redmond; Isabel Ryan; Aimee Stafford; Paulina Skiersinis; Chiara Gerardi; Katie Kennedy; Rachel Murphy; Laura McDonald, and Shauna Nolan.

The scholarship award, worth €1,000, was sponsored by Ballycadden Wind Farm, and this year's recipient was Kurt Krantz.

The academic awards were then presented to the following recipients: First in class: Aidan 1 - Roisin Carroll, Dylan Purcell and Bill Quigley; Brid 1 - Hannah Lynam-Pedoe and Damien Duke; Colm 1 - Jane Fitzgerald and Conor Garland; Marie I - Rachael Murphy and Jimmie Carroll; Padraig 1 - Patricia Njoku and Rory Raleigh; Victoire 1 - Niamh Donohoe and Danny Fitzhenry; Aidan 2 - Emma Byrne and James Aylward; Brid 2 - Ciara Murphy and Aaron Hay; Colm 2 - Kayla McGannon and Peadar Folan; Marie 2 - Aisling Byrne and Darragh Bolger; Padraig 2 - Katelyn Bolger and Conor Burke; Victoire 2 - Rosemary Keating and Ryan Purcell; Aidan V - Paulina Skiersinis; Brid V - Annmarie Redmond; Colm V - Ríona Byrne; Marie V - Grace Kehoe; Padraig V - Áine Byrne;

Victoire V - Fionn O Muiri; Leaving Cert award (for three students who got 625 points): Ciara Carroll, Kate Kirwan and Niamh O'Dowd.

Enniscorthy Guardian