Thursday 20 June 2019

Students rewarded for excellence

Fifth Year Academic Awards winners with Dr Michelle Millar, guest speaker, and Kiera O’Sullivan, principal
Fifth Year Academic Awards winners with Dr Michelle Millar, guest speaker, and Kiera O’Sullivan, principal

Brendan Keane

The students from Coláiste Bríde secondary school in Enniscorthy have been acknowledged for their academic and sporting excellence at the school's annual student awards ceremony.

The highly anticipated event took place on Monday, May 20.

There was great excitement in the school leading up to the ceremony which is always one of the most highly anticipated events on the school's social calendar.

The special guest speaker on the day was Dr Michelle Miller.

It was a case of returning home for Dr Miller as she is a former student of the school. She is now the head of the social and political department in University College Galway.

In her address, she highlighted the benefits and opportunities she received as a direct result of having received her secondary education in the school.

She also highlighted the pride she felt as a parent attending the awards.

'I know how much your awards mean to you young women and how proud your families and teachers are of each of you,' she said.

Dr Miller said her time in the school was very enjoyable and she highlighted that she took courage and inspiration from her experiences there and that she made great friendships and bonds in the school.

'Stand back, acknowledge this recognition of your hard work and dedication and be proud of what you have achieved,' she added.

Her sentiments were shared by the principal, Kiera O'Sullivan, who congratulated all of the girls on their achievements.

She said they should feel justifiably proud of themselves and she wished them the best of luck with their ongoing and future studies.

The overall list of winners was composed of: First Year Academic awards - presented by Ms Furlong: Alice Murphy (1A); Maeve McCarthy (1B); Katie Doyle (1C); Orla McDowall (1D); Jessica Redmond (1E); Second Year Academic awards - presented by Ms Breen: Tara Whelan (2A); Sarah Walsh (2B); Nancy Ennis (2C) and Sadhbh Ryan (2D); Third Year academic awards - presented by Mr Roche-Kirwan: Emma-Louise Doran (3A); Nadine Power (3B); Niamh Dempsey (3C); Emma Murphy (3D) and Amelia Morycka (3E); Outstanding Junior Certificate results in 2018: Polly Frost - presented by Ms O'Sullivan; Outstanding Contribution to Music - Colleen Coughlan (presented by Mr Walsh); Senior Academic awards: 5th Year: 1 - Megan Asple; 2 - Leire Barcena; 3 - Sarah Boyce; 4 - Eimear Byrne; 5 - Estella Crean; 6 - Mairead Crean; 7 - Lana Doolan; 8 - Leah Doran; 9 - Michelle Doyle; 10 - Rachel Fortune; 11 - Maeve Greig; 12 - Michaela Hawkins; 13- Olivia Kearns; 14 - Hollie Kenny; 15 - Caoimhe Kirwan; 16 - Gráinne Lee; 17 - Kate Maher; 18 - Jemma Mallon; 19 - Ciara McNally; 20 - Alice Medcalf; 21 - Ellen O'Gorman; 22 - Aileen Quigley; 23 - Éadaoin Stafford, and 24 - Alicia St Claire Johnson; 6th Year Academic: 1 - Ashley Bolger; 2 -Suzi Byrne; 3 - Amy Carney; 4 - Jade Clarke; 5 - Aoife Devereux; 6 - Lystus Ebosele; 7 - Aoife Foy; 8 - Kasey Grant Kehoe; 9 - Rachel Greene; 10 - Molly Jordan; 11 - Chloe Kavanagh; 12 - Roisín Kinsella; 13 - Amy Long; 14 - Lily Mahon; 15 - Katelyn McVeigh; 16 - Tara McVeigh; 17 - Beth Murphy; 18 - Aoife Nolan; 19 - Rebecca O'Sullivan; 20 - Jessica Roche; 21 - Katelyn Ronan; 22 - Isabel Sinnott; 23 - Caithlin Stamp, and 24 - Sarah Whitty; Outstanding results in Leaving Certificate 2018 - Karen Walsh; Sports Awards: 1st year - Abby Gibbons; 2nd year - Sara Walsh; 3rd year - Kelly-Anne Dempsey; 5th year - Michael Hawkins; 6th year - Amy Long; Overall Sports Personality of the Year: Lystus Ebosele; Coláiste Bríde Junior camogie team (Leinster junior champions 2019): Ruth Bolger; Leona Buckley; Abbie Dagg; Donna Delahunty; Lauren Delaney; Kellyanne Dempsey; Ciara Doyle; Loren Doyle; Lucy-Jo Egan; Eabha Farrell; Katie Foley; Nadine Fortune; Rioghna Hourihane; Guevara Hughes; Anna Jevens; Isobel Kavanagh; Bronagh Kenny; Niamh Larkin; Cooney; Ciara Lawler; Muireann Murphy; Anna Nolan; Ciara O'Connor (Captain); Miria O'Dowd; Dara O'Leary; Cora Redmond; Orla Redmond; Leah Scallan; Roisin Scallan; Siobhan Sinnott, and Sarah Walsh; Hockey team (Inter A South East Leinster Champions): Klaudia Siestrzencewicz; Abbi Ryan Parle; Muireann Murphy; Laura Kelly; Anna Finan; Niamh O Leary; Anna Oakes; Ailbhe Tierney; Sadhbh Ryan; Emer Kervick; Laura Berry; Megan Ring; Caitlyn Ring; Michelle Wariunge; Dara O Leary; Anna Walshe; Hannah Reamonn; Eabha Roche; Orla Cunnea and Roise Murphy; Gaisce award: Bronze award recipients: Aileen Quigley; Aisling Foran; Alexandra Giran; Aoife Kinsella; Beth Roche; Bonnie Kinnaird; Eadaoin Stafford; Eimear Byrne; Ellen O'Gorman; Ellie Jevens; Fianna Hughes; Jade Power; Leah Doran; Méabh Rochford; Niamh O'Gorman and Rachel Long; Silver Award recipients (2018): Ashley Bolger; Aoife Devereaux; Amy Long; Áine O'Neill, and Caitlin Stamp; Bronze Award recipients (2019); Áine Byrne; Ciara Doyle; Claudia O'Neill; Corah Dobbs; Grace Dempsey; Kaylin O'Leary; Niamh Burt; Polly Frost; Ríoghna Hourihane; Sarah Cosgrave, and Sarah Doyle; People of the Year: 1st Year - Orla Cunnea; 2nd Year - Aoife Tirbowhan; 3rd Year - Hannah Byrne; 5th Year - Aisling Foran; 6th Year - Caithlin Stamp; The Mercy Cup: Hannah Byrne (3rd Year); Ceist Award: Mairead Crean (5th Year); Meitheal Leaders: Kate De Lacy; Aisling Foran; Rachel Fortune; Alisha Grant; Eva Greene; Aoife Kinsella; Aoibhe Lewis; Eve MacCormaic; Caoimhe McDonald; Alice Medcalf; Paige Mitchelle; Meabh Rochford; Ellyssa San Augustin; Shannon Tobin, and Aoife Whelan; Head Girls: Ashley Bolger; Lystus Ebosele; Rachel Greene; Patrycja Mazurczak; Beth Murphy; Sarah O'Dowd, and Caitlin Stamp; Senior Student of the Year: Aoife Devereux; the other nominees included: Ashley Bolger; Lystus Ebolsele; Beth Murphy; Caitlin Stamp, and Sarah Whitty.

Enniscorthy Guardian