wexford six guns have 'oscar' class CLARE LEAGUE...........................0

WEXFORD LEAGUE......................6

On National Famine Commeration Day it was fitting that there was a glut of goals to mark Wexford winning the FAI Umbro Oscar Traynor Trophy for the first time in their 50 year history as a Junior Soccer League,

Wexford ran out easy winner by six goals to nil in what was a very entertaining game in front of a large crowd at the County Ground in Dorra, Co. Clare.

The game opened brightly at from the word go it was clear that Wexford were up for the game carving out chance after chance and only for the excellenace of the the Clare goalkeeper John Healy things might of gone from bad to worse for Clare team that were struggling to cope with the duel treath of Leighton Gleeson and Paul Murphy, Murphy in particular was excellent and created chance after chance for Wexford and he created the only goal of the first half for Leighton Gleeson who slotted home from just inside the penalty spot after 33 minutes to give Wexford a deserved lead.

The second half could of been so different when Clare had a chance to equalise when David Mc Carthy was denied by Lee Walker in the Wexford goal, that seemed to spark Wexford in to life and within a five minute spell Wexford were four up through the excellent finishing of Leighton Gleeson who completed his hat trick and picked up the Man of the Match award and additional goals from Kyle Dempsey, Paul Murphy and Ricky Fox who completed the scoreline.

In the end nobody could deny Wexford their historic win and Clare were gratcious in their defeat they battled well for 60 minutes but they just could not live with the experience and fire power of an excellent Wexford side worthy of their victory in the year they celebrate their 50th anniversary.

Clare: John Healy, Liam Murphy, Mattie Nugent, Richard Lillis, David Russell, Con Collins, Trevor Maxwell, Mike O' Malley, Derek Fahey, David Mc Carthy, Adrian Mc Donagh. Subs: Eamon O' Reilly, Michael Devitt, Darryl Eade, Gary Collins, Ally Mc Millan, Ger O' Connell, Kieran Mc Glynn.

Wexford: Lee Walker, Lee Chin, Thomas Hawkins, Gareth Howlin, Sean Culleton, Leighton Gleeson, Kyle Dempsey, Michael Grangel, Paul Murphy, Eugene O' Brien. Subs: David Purcell, Anthony Hayes, Tom Elmes, Darren Jordan, Alan Freeman, Ricky Fox, Martin O' Connor.

Referee Damien Kilpatrick, Eddie Fowler, Paul Reynolds {Assistants} Lorcan White 4th Official. {AUL Dublin}.