Tuesday 25 June 2019

Title joy for Termonfeckin

Triumphant: Termonfeckin Under-11s.
Triumphant: Termonfeckin Under-11s.

A Thrilling battle for the Drogheda Schoolchildren's League Under-11 Premier Division title went right down to the last few minutes of the league season as Termonfeckin struck two late goals to secure the silverware.

Duleek 1 Termonfeckin 3

A Duleek equaliser well into the second half appeared to have handed the trophy to Albion Rovers, but the away side had other ideas and they finished strongly to deny the Monasterboice side the honours.

With the League in the bag and the Cup Final to come, they are certainly doing things right out in Termonfeckin as this was their first taste of League glory.

With reports coming in from other grounds, they knew beforehand that only a win would clinch the title and both teams attacked each other from the start.

Although Termonfeckin applied great pressure and Sean O'Driscoll and Tadhg Gallagher nearly broke the deadlock, the home team were able to contain them until a great header from James Younger Hobbs put the visitors in front.

Duleek did not lie down and they continued to attack, with Sean O'Halloran and Dylan Lyttle going close with good efforts.

The second half started with the visitors still in control but unable to extend their lead and some signs of nerves started to creep in.

When Lyttle equalised for Duleek it seemed that Termonfeckin might have blown their title challenge, as with 10 minutes left the honours were heading for Albion Rovers who had beaten Walshestown Dragons 5-4 in the earlier game.

But instead the young boys from Termonfeckin dug deep to show what they are made of and captain Cathal O'Reilly hit a rocket of a free kick to the Duleek net after Tadhg Dunne had been fouled outside the box.

Duleek made great efforts to get back into the match, but Termonfeckin were solid at the back, with Paddy Keane and Ben McCabe soaking up the pressure.

Then, with time running out, Luke Matthews played a great ball to Cillian McCormack who calmly slotted it into the back of the net. The U-11 Premier title was heading deservedly to Termonfeckin, but all credit to Duleek who made them work for it.

Duleek: I O'Leary, C Eagers, S Rogers, D O'Byrne, D Caldwell, S O'Halloran, B Cullen, D Lyttle, C Diff, D Eagers.

Termonfeckin: C Dolan, N Messbacher, C Brady, S O'Driscoll, C O'Reilly, B McCabe, C McCormack, James Y Hobbs, T Gallagher, A Garvey, T Dunne, D Dorian, P Keane, L Matthews.

Drogheda Independent