Tuesday 16 July 2019

Smashing Plate win for Celtic Under-12s

U-12 Plate Final - Termonfeckin Celtic 3 Grove Rangers 1

Termonfeckin Celtic survived a mini Grove Rangers comeback and finished strongly as they claimed the Drogheda Children's League Under-12 Plate silverware in a very entertaining final played at Parkview.

The Hoops started better and dominated the first 15 minutes. with Grove struggling to get out of their own half, and there were a few goalmouth scrambles and some great defending by the Drogheda side.

However, Termonfeckin did eventually break the deadlock when Donal Quinn smashed home from close range following a good effort initially from Jacob Morgan.

Grove brought on sub Kristy Kikueta who immediately made an impact, only to be denied by Evan McCluskey in the Termonfeckin goal.

The game became more end to end then, with both side having good opportunities saved, until a wonder strike from Termonfeckin's Ciaran McGinty gave his team a 2-0 lead which they brought into half-time.

The second period started with both teams playing some nice football, but it was Termonfeckin who extended their lead to 3-0 10 minutes in when their captain Finn Walsh fired a free kick under the defensive wall and into the bottom corner of the net.

Grove gave themselves a bit of a lifeline when Kikueta broke free and finished well, and Termonfeckin goalkeeper - and man of the match - McCluskey had to pull off a series of fine saves before Termonfeckin steadied themselves and regained control of the game to seal victory.

Best on the day for Termonfeckin were McCluskey, Garbhan O'Reilly and McGinty, with Kikueta, Emily Corduff Johnson and Gian Gallego shining for Grove Rangers.

Termonfeckin Celtic: Evan McCluskey, Jack Rogers, Garbhan O Reilly, Andrew McCarthy, Finn Walsh, Donal Quinn, Jacob Morgan, Ciaran McGinty, Euan McCullough, Caelum Carney, Phillip Markovic, Stephen McCullough.

Grove Rangers: Kyle Duffy, Emily Corduff Johnson, Alex Maguire, Corey Raey, Aoife Toner, Jamie Johnson, Gian Gallego, Darragh Naughton, Kristy Kikueta, Cian Corduff Johnson, Lennon Gerrard, Evan O'Dowd.

Drogheda Independent