Thursday 20 June 2019

It's Dee-saster as lowly Ardee are hit for six!

Soccer, North East Football League, Premier Div: Muirhevnamor 6 Ardee Celtic 0

PJ Murray

Ardee Celtic are rooted to the bottom of the NEFL Premier Division following a 6-0 hammering away to Muirhevnamor on Friday night.

What it means is that so far this season Ardee have only managed two goals, while they have shipped 19 and are in serious danger of being cut well adrift so early in the season.

It was a very one-sided game from the start as the hosts bossed the early exchanges and hit the front with just 13 minutes on the clock. Hugh Murphy could do very little against a powerfully headed shot.

The Deesiders thought that they had levelled when the hosts put the ball in their own net, but the goal was ruled out for an offside decision, something which left the away side feeling very aggrieved.

Had the goal stood, then who knows, but the game took a very one-sided turn soon after as Muirhevnamor added two more goals in quick succession to take a comfortable 3-0 lead into the break.

Bryan O'Connor tried his luck from distance and was unlucky not to at least hit the target just on the half-time whistle.

It was 4-0 straight after the re-start. The Dundalk team controlled possession and possibly could have gone further ahead earlier in the half had Murphy not made some decent stops.

Ardee had several chances to get at least a consolation goal. Finn Kelly and Bryan O'Connor both went close, while the Dundalk side's keeper pulled off a great save late on.

The hosts tacked on two late goals to complete the rout.

Ardee have a week off as they will no doubt look to regroup and try and to put some points on the board.

Muirhevnamor: Michael Cooney, Brian Begley, Nathan Murphy, Paul Mellon (Ciaran Jameson), Jimmy Cooney, Mickey O'Kane, Philip Duffy, Gary Clarke (Wayne Robinson), Vinny Smith (Brendan Hughes), Martin Smith, Paudie Hearty (Sean Conlon).

Ardee Celtic: Hugh Murphy; Ken Thornton, Finn Kelly, Fintan Clarke, Sam O'Callaghan, Robbie Reynolds; Shawni Dowdall, David Carroll, Niall Sharkey, Trevor Farrell; Bryan O'Connor. Subs: Ian Kennedy James Tiffney.

Drogheda Independent