Friday 23 March 2018

Hawks' Under-12s hang on in thriller

DROGHEDA Town Hawks went three points clear at the top of the Under-12 Premier Division after a pulsating contest on Sunday morning.

Facing joint leaders Dromin United, the Hawks enjoyed the perfect start, Imran Jiwo raiding down the left and crossing for Robert Murphy to bag his fourth goal in two games with a bullet-like header to the roof of the net.

The inspired Dromin keeper then saved twice from Bema Meite as the contest remained tight and competitive right up to half-time.

Two stops in a minute from Hugh Murphy early in the second half kept the Hawks in front, but a glorious in-swinging corner from TJ Doheny had Dromin level soon after.

With Sean Caffrey a rock in midfield, backed by Femi Fanifosi and the stylish Thomas O'Connell, Hawks hit the front again on 43 minutes, Murphy making a superb save at one end and then blasting the kickout towards Meite who crossed for Matthew Askins to rifle home.

Ten minutes later the dashing Meite raced clear and finished in glorious style.

But the contest was on again big time when Dromin scored with five minutes to go, and then with the last kick of the game came the decisive moment.

A Dromin free kick was goalbound, but Murphy blocked superbly across goal. Christian Connolly was perfectly placed to hook off the line and as two attackers lined up to score Murphy again somehow blocked and dived on the loose ball.

It was again a fine defensive show from the Hawks' Aaron Moran, Conor Brennan, Maurice Quediago and Rian Byrne Farrell, with Connolly giving good support to Luke O'Driscoll just in front of the back four.

Hawks were playing their second game in two days, after enjoying a fine win over Duleek on Friday.

Robert Murphy smashed his first hat-trick for the club as Rian Byrne Farrell also found the net in style, backing up Fanifosi and Meite.

DROGHEDA TOWN Hawks: Hugh Murphy, Imran Jiwo, Aaron Moran, Conor Brennan, Maurice Quediago, Rian Byrne Farrell, Femi Fanifosi, Thomas O'Connell, Sean Caffrey, Christian Connolly, Bema Meite, Luke O'Driscoll, Robert Murphy, Matthew Askins, Jason Doyle.

Drogheda Independent