Sunday 19 November 2017


NEWFOUNDWELL'S remarkable short history in the MDL reached new heights on Sunday when they clinched the Division 1 title with this emphatic away win at Ardee Celtic.

The Drogheda outfit had already secured a third successive promotion a couple of weeks ago, but this was their first taste of silverware and they are still chasing what would be a sensational League and Cup double, with a Tully Bookmakers semi-final to come next weekend.

Only two seasons ago Newfoundwell began life in the MDL in Division 3 and they quickly worked their way through the divisions, and any thoughts that they might struggle in the second tier were soon scotched.

Indeed, with Danny Gartland (right) and the experienced Martin Walsh at the helm, they have gone from strength to strength, losing only once in the league all season, and they can now look forward with confidence to playing Premier Division football.

Still, with Kentstown Rovers and Boca Rovers mounting a

strong challenge, Newfoundwell needed a win from their penultimate game to secure the trophy and there were signs of nerves in the early stages from the away side.

It took a great strike from Karl Brannigan which was deflected to the Ardee net by Ciaran Carroll to settle them and the floodgates opened after that as Brian Kermode bagged a brace of goals and Stephen Keeley made it 4-0 before the interval.

With nothing but pride to play for, there was no way back for Ardee at that stage and Newfoundwell put the icing on the cake with second-half strikes from Brannigan, his second of the game, and impact sub Ian Devine.

The celebrations went on long into the night and it remains to be seen whether 'The Well' can knuckle down sufficiently over the next couple of days to make a game of it in next Sunday's Tully Bookmakers Cup semi-final against Premier Division champions Woodview Celtic in Kingscourt.

NEWFOUNDWELL: Alan Sweeney, Gaz Smith, Dean Carolan, Darragh Traynor, Stephen Murphy, Cormac Reid (Ian Devine), Stephen Keeley, Brian Kermode, Karl Dyas (Ross Reid), Ciaran Carroll, Karl Brannigan.

Drogheda Independent

Promoted Links

Promoted Links