Wednesday 15 August 2018

Thatch too strong for gallant Valley Inn

The Thatch C team celebrate after completing the double with victory in the John Speedy Heavey Cup Final. Pictures: John McKeown
The Thatch C team celebrate after completing the double with victory in the John Speedy Heavey Cup Final. Pictures: John McKeown
John Speedy Heavey Cup runners-up Valley Inn.

In the last final of a memorable season in the Fosters Duleek & District League a young and determined Thatch side proved too strong for gallant Valley Inn.

Despite the one-sided looking scoreline, the Dunleer team had their chances throughout but just couldn't hit the doubles on the night.

Thatch got off to a dream start, winning the 1001 team game and the first four doubles as well to go 5-0 up overall.

Valley were left to rue missed opportunities in the opening team game and in the first doubles where Anthony Goodman and Kieran Murtagh would have beaten Darragh Maguire and Sam Henry but for those elusive doubles.

Thatch pairs Josh Campbell/Paul Maguire, Jack Hoey/Conor Campbell and Aaron Henry/Gary Sadlier all won their games to give the Drogheda outfit a seemingly unassailable lead.

To their credit, Valley Inn did not lie down and quickly rattled off two victories of their own through Goodman and Murtagh in the singles, and they had a further good chance in the third singles, only for Josh Campbell to eventually outpoint Peter Flanagan in a very tight leg. The ninth game of the night saw Paul Maguire and Joe Callaghan go head to head, and with Callaghan throwing really well and in front he must have fancied his chances of closing that gap a little bit further,

However, he was caught out by a stunning 158 finish from young Maguire to seal victory for Thatch as they completed the double, having won the Division 2 League title just a couple of weeks previously.

Overall, Thatch were very deserving winners as they were much sharper throughout, particularly around doubles and finishes which are always the most important parts of the game.

Afterwards, League committee members presented Thatch with the perpetual trophy, 10 individual inscribed trophies and a cash prize, with Valley Inn collecting a cash prize for their efforts.

Four members of the Heavey family were on hand to assist with the presentation of the trophy, named after their father John (Speedy) who was a former member and chairman of the league.

The League thanked the management, staff and club members of Slane House for all their help and assistance in hosting the final.

Thatch: Darragh Maguire, Sam Henry, Josh Campbell, Paul Maguire, Jack Hoey, Conor Campbell, Arron Henry, Gary Sadlier, Dylan Farrell, Kieran Mc Loughlin.

Valley: Anthony Goodman, Kieran Murtagh, Peter Flanagan, Joe Callaghan, Fergus Lambe, Robert Marry, John Loughran, John Whelan, Billy Nielan, Jim Ruddy.

Caller: Pat O Brien. Marker: Ian Lowthe.

•The sum of €1,000, collected by the League during the season, will now be distributed to various local charities.

The League agm will take place in mid-July (provisionally) and the 2018/19 season begins in early October, with registration in early September.

2017/18 roll of honour

Fosters Premier Division;

Winners - Greyhound - Duleek ; R / Up, Carranstown Lodge, Duleek;

Fosters Division 1;

Winners- Boyne Valley, Slane - R / Up, Matthews, Collon;

Fosters Division 2;

Winners - Thatch C, Drogheda - R / Up, Grennans, Drogheda;

Fosters Division 3;

Winners - Sally Inn, Slane - R / Up, Mariner Bar, Drogheda'

Tom Grimes Cup;

Winners - Carranstown Lodge, Duleek - R / Up, Thatch A, Drogheda;

John Speedy Heavey Cup;

Winners - Thatch C, Drogheda - R / Up, Valley Inn, Dunleer;

Shield Competition Group A;

Winners, Morning Star, Tullyallen - R / Up, Black / White Thatch, Rossin;

Shield Competition - Group B;

Winners, Alverno, Laytown - R / Up, Valley Inn, Dunleer;

Premier Division Plate Winners - Thatch A, Drogheda - R / Up, Boyne Rovers, Drogheda;

Singles Winner, Keith Rooney, Carranstown, Duleek - R / Up, Paul Madden, Lantern Bar, Navan;

Doubles Winners, Robert Smith / Damien Hethrington, Mariner Bar, Drogheda, - R / Up, Paddy Kavanagh / Stephen Murtagh, Carranstown, Duleek;

Lower Divisional Singles Winner - Pat Mc Keown, Lynchs, Slane - R / Up, Derek Thornton, Admirals, Drogheda;

Plate Winners, Damian Grimes, Matthews, Collon, and Karl Fox, Matthews, Collon.

Drogheda Independent