Friday 19 January 2018

Strong displays from the Dunleer contingent

Katie Doheny and her cousins Vanessa and Amy Brennan, under-9 medal winners.
Katie Doheny and her cousins Vanessa and Amy Brennan, under-9 medal winners.

THE ANNUAL Noel Mc Guill/Sandra Floyd Memorial Cross Country event was held at Darver, on Sunday, marking the 40th anniversary of the death of Noel Mc Guill in the Rás Tailteann cycling event.

Hosts Dunleer AC were delighted to see a great turnout from local clubs and support from many neighbouring counties.

Fiona Roche, representing Raheny Shamrocks, was the winner of the 3km race in 10.55, with Fiona Mahon (Dunshaughlin) in second and Marion Doherty (Drogheda & District) in third, while Sean Hehir of Rathfarnham won the Men's race in 18:57 ahead of former Dunleer athlete Aaron Hanlon (Clonliffe Harriers) and ex Drogheda & District ace Simon Ryan (Raheny).

The strong contingent from Dunleer all produced super efforts and many winning medals at a variety of age groups. In the girls under 7 fun run, Lucy Sheridan romped home first, with her clubmate Vanessa Brennan in second. The boys under 7 race featured a great second-place finisher in Matthew Fitzpatrick.

Grace Fitzpatrick had another great win at under 9, while her clubmates Patrick Farrell and Oisín Cheshire were first and third respectively in the boys under 9 race.

Newcomer Peter Meegan had a great run to finish third under 11 and Emma Cheshire and Seoda Matthews were second and third under 13, while Jack Mc Cullough had a super first place.

In the girls under 15 Aoife Fay had a great win and she was followed home by Seaghna Campbell in second, with Kayleigh Fay fourth. Jack Boylan had a great fourth place in the boys under 15 race. Niamh Murray from Dunleer won the under 17 girls race, while Garry Campbell was second under 15.

In the junior ladies races there was further joy for the host club, with Emma Fay a winner and Sarah Haak in second. Conor Dunne, meanwhile, won the Junior Men's section.

Finally, in the senior races, the ladies won the Sandra Floyd Cup with scoring team members Emma Fay, Karen Costello, Sarah Haak and Sandra Doheny. The men's team was depleted due to injury and illness but still managed third place in the team section, with James Rothwell, Aonghus Rooney, Conor Dunne and Patrick Connolly.

Dunleer AC would like to thank the Floyd family and the Mc Guill family for presenting the Cups, Louth GAA for the use of Darver, St John's Ambulance, Bradley's Pharmacy, Tom Neary and all stewards and helpers who made this a successful event once again.

Promoted Links

Promoted Links