Thursday 18 October 2018

Rule book turns a defeat into victory for Greenhills


Our Lady’s College Greenhills’ First Year Minor B team
Our Lady’s College Greenhills’ First Year Minor B team

In the final SSA League games of 2017 Our Lady's College Greenhills teams gained maximum points from the four matches played.

Two teams played Santa Sabina in Sutton and the Under-16 Cadette B team qualified for the quarter-finals with a 27-10 win against the hosts, with captain Niamh Burke top-scoring with eight points and Ava Scanlon playing great defense.

It was a similar story in the 2nd Year Junior A match, with Our Lady's especially dominant in the first half on the way to a 38-19 victory, with Ciara NicCriosta helping herself to 15 points.

Mt Sackville made the journey to the Boyneside from Chapelizod with two teams and in the 2nd Year Junior B match Our Lady's fought back from 12-6 down to win 27-14, led by Katie McCabe who hit 12 points.

The last game of 2017 featured the 1st Year Minor B team and during the warm-up coach Denise Rice queried the visitors as to whether they were playing with 'club' players, as it was quite evident there was some.

The coach admitted he had one and a further two who were no longer playing with a club and as this is Division 2 no 'club' players are allowed. Coach Rice agreed to play the game as a challenge, but the points would go to Our Lady's.

The home side actually led 10-7 at the end of quarter one, with Subomi Dele flourishing in her new role as point guard, but after the introduction of the 'club' players Mt Sackville turned it around and finished 47-26 winners despite Dele's haul of 12 points.

The Our Lady's girls were quite upset during the game as they could not cope with Mt Sackville's skill levels, but they were a little happier when the situation was explained to them and that the win in fact was theirs.

U-16 Cadette B: Niamh Burke 8pts; Stacey Canny 4; Martyna Chomiak 2; Aisling Doran; Chantelle Gallagher 6; Rachel Matthews 4; Kate Russell; Ava Scanlon 3; Hannah Woods.

2nd Year Junior A: Ellie Riggs 2pts; Ava Briscoe 6; Nikola Busa; Loveth Edomwande 7; Zoe Gardiner; Dannan Jackson; Greta McEvoy 2; Ciara NicCriosta 15; Kaylin Nugent; Josephine Ogbanga; Abby Rice 6; Ava Russell.

2nd year junior B: Keelin O'Reilly 5pts; Benita Assoua 4; Alice Bermingham; Carla Grennan; Caoimhe Kearney; Erin Lane 1; Zoe Lennon; Katie McCabe 12; Joy Njekwe 5; Lois O'Hare.

1st year minor b: Grace Awe; Subomi Dele 12; Sarah Duff; Keelin Foley 5; Laura Healy; Niamh Higgins; Ava Hoey; Teigan Kavanagh; Amy Matthews; Ellen McCarthy 6; Clodagh McHugh; Cliona McKernan 2; Katie Murphy 1; Rosie Savage.

Drogheda Independent