Saturday 24 February 2018

Official opening of clubhouse extension

THE Cushinstown AC headquarters was like a who's who of sporting dignitaries last Saturday as 250 guests assembled to celebrate the official opening of the new clubhouse extension.

Club members and coaches past and present were in attendance along with representatives of Athletics Association of Ireland, including current president Ciaran O Cathain along with past President Liam Hennessy.

Meath Athletics Board were represented by its chairman Brendan Meade and Louth Athletics Board were represented by its chairman Pat Cheshire. There were also representatives from the many athletics clubs in Louth and Meath and from other sporting codes such as local GAA, soccer and kickboxing.

In his opening remarks Mr O Cathain congratulated the club on its achievements and paid a special tribute to Dessie Gough and Paddy Joyce, who as founding members of the club are still active in the day-to-day running and have a combined service to the club of 82 years.

A number of local elected public representatives were in attendance to see for themselves the work that has been put into developing the club, while Cushinstown also hosted the annual awards on the same night and the club was delighted to have Eilis McSweeney (Irish international athlete) and Sean O'Brien (Leinster and Ireland rugby player) in attendance to present the prizes.

Club athletes were presented with an award in recognition of their achievements during 2013 at county, provincial, national and international level, with honours going to Emily McGreal, Amy Bellew, Katie Lenehan, Dominic McCabe, Zoe Mohan, Aoife Lenehan, Caoimhe Doyle, Sinead Reynolds, Shauna White, Michael O'Sullivan, Eoghan Reynolds, Luke McCabe, Ciaran Kearns, Lee Ward, Orna Reynolds, Niamh Reynolds, Shannon Sheehy, Heather Jameson, Keith Marks, Shane Joyce and Elizabeth Morland.

In recognition of her achievements in 2013 the club named Elizabeth Morland as Athlete of the Year after representing Ireland in the European Youth Olympics in Holland. She was presented with the Tommy O'Connor Trophy by Ciaran O Cathain (AAI President) and Mrs Berlo O'Connor.

This year saw the first awarding of the Patsy Gough Most Deserving Athlete Shield. The shield is awarded to the athlete that the coaches feel is most deserving for their efforts during the year and the 2013 recipient is Michael O'Sullivan who was presented with the shield by Ciaran O Cathain (AAI President).

Drogheda Independent

Promoted Links

Promoted Links