Saturday 17 March 2018

Meath Awards for talented athletes

Cushinstown AC athletes with their 2013 Meath awards.
Cushinstown AC athletes with their 2013 Meath awards.

CUSHINSTOWN AC members turned out in fource at the 2013 Meath Annual Awards Night and duly picked up an array of awards. The Ardboyne Hotel in Navan hosted the function which paid tribute to a host of cross-country, road racers, track and field juveniles and junior, senior and masters athletes.

Seven from the Cushinstown club received an award for winning a national medal - namely Shane Smyth, Dominic Mc Cabe, Niamh Reynolds, Shannon Sheehy, Elizabeth Moorland, Keith Marks and Shane Joyce.

Athletes also presented with an individual award on the night were Aoife Lenihan (U11-U13 field), Shane Smyth (U11-U13 cross-country), Shannon Sheehy (U14-U16 track), Elizabeth Moorland (U14-U16 field), Shane Joyce (U17-U19 field), Niamh Reynolds (U17-U19 field) and Eoin Smyth (U16 Meath Cross-Country team). Heather Jameson was awarded the Girls International Athlete award and Phelim Joyce earned the Men's Field Masters award.

The club's achievements at the Meath Track & Field Championships were also recognised as it was awarded the Bob Heffernan Shield for Best Track & Field Club at the County Championships where the club won more than 100 medals.

This is the sixth year in a row that Cushinstown has won the Bob Heffernan Shield.

Drogheda Independent