Wednesday 24 April 2019

Greenhills teams aiming to net Tallaght hat-trick


It's a huge week in store for basketball in Our Lady's College Greenhills as three of their team compete in the Secondary Schools Association Finals in the National Basketball Arena.

The top sides in the region will converge on the Tallaght venue on Thursday and first of the Drogheda school's teams in action will be the 2nd Year Premier side at 1.55pm. Then it's the mouth-watering clash of the Our Lady's College A and B teams in the 1st Year 2nd Division decider.

The first of the semi-finals took place Monday, with the 1st Year B team and 2nd Year A team making the trip to ALSAA to play Santa Sabina B and Dominican College respectively.

First up was the 1st Years and a great start left them 10-2 up at the first break, with Sadhbh Clinton scoring six of these and Queen Aqunloye adding the other four.

The second five players to take to the court added another four points, courtesy of captain Jessica Carr, while keeping Sabina scoreless, and Sabina also failed to score in quarter three as the Boynesiders ran in a further eight points.

Leisha Archbold and Casey Nugent were excellent in defence, but it was the scoring power of Sadhbh Clinton that won the day as she finished on a game-high 12 points in the 24-4 victory.

The 2nd Year A team, playing in the Premier Division, were next on the floor to face Dominican College of Griffith Avenue. These two sides met in January, with Our Lady's prevailing by a point, but on that day Dominican were missing two of their club players.

Our Lady's had their own script and raced out of the blocks, with Loveth Edonwande running the length of the court on a few occasions to help give her team a 10-2 lead at the first break.

The next five players did not let the momentum slip and they also notched 10 points, eight of those going to Sara Jane Hughes.

Our Lady's had to be careful in the second half, but their defence was superb, with special mentions for Nicole Tully, Ella Flanagan and captain Niamh Byrne.

The Dublin side never threatened as the Louth girls ran in a further 26 points to complete a 46-9 win and secure a place in their first final. Sara Jane Hughes was top scorer on 16 points, followed closely by Loveth Edonwande on 14.

The following day it was the turn of the 2nd Year B and 1st Year A teams to travel to ALSAA to play in their semi-finals, both against Maryfield College.

First up was Maryfield's A side against Our Lady's B, and at the end of a very tight first half it was just 4-3 to Maryfield, with Alma Harrak claiming the only two-pointer.

Maryfield were the first to start playing and scored nine points in the third quarter, while Katie Ryan accounted for Our Lady's only score.

Trailing 13-4 with only one quarter left, the Drogheda girls were now playing for pride, but they improved vastly and two late scores by Grace Awe and Rebecca Tully brought them back into it before time ran out and they lost 14-10.

The 1st Year A team then took to the floor, knowing that win would mean playing their own 'B' side in the final. Nerves were very evident in the first quarter, as both sides scored only a single basket, with captain Jessica Carron on target.

In quarter two, the next five players made more of an impact, with Armela Hotaj and Erin Kearney tenacious in defence. They scored 12 points to boot, while restricting Maryfield to a single free-throw. Eabha Woods was brilliant under the offensive boards, hitting eight points.

Maryfield failed to put up any kind of opposition in the second half, and indeed only scored a further two points to leave the final score at 25-5. Woods was top scorer wih a season-high 14 points.

1ST YEAR 'B': Jessica Carr 4pts; Queen Agunloye 4; Leisha Archbold 2; Sadhbh Clinton 12; Katie Connolly; Emma Farrell; Jessica Hevey; Evie Kirwan; Deimena Makauskaite; Aine Marron; Sarah McGrath 2; Kuhle Mdlalo; Casey Nugent.

2ND YEAR 'A': Niamh Burke; Uyi Aghavbere; Subomi Dele; Loveth Edonwande 14pts; Ella Flanagan 2; Sarah Jane Hughes 16; Amelia Lawrence; Ellen McCarthy; Kate McGuigan 6; Cliona McKernan 2; Nicole Tully 6; Jowita Wyka.

2ND YEAR 'B': Rebecca Tully 3pts; Grace Awe 4; Caitlin Duffy; Molly Durnin; Keelin Foley; Lily Mae Harmon; Alma Harrak 2; Teigan Kavanagh; Stephanie Obisan; Katie Ryan 1; Neda Totilaite; Grace Woods.

1ST YEAR 'A': Jessica Carron 6pts; Heather Breen 2; Leah Brodigan; Katie Dawson; Emily Fitzpatrick; Armela Hotaj; Liana Karkle; Erin Kearney; Kate McDermott; Sophie McNally; Kiera McWilliams; Joy Mooney; Sheila Whyte 3; Eabha Woods 14.

Drogheda Independent