Saturday 17 February 2018

Cian's gamble pays off as he storms to impressive victory


Moynalty CC promoted their annual GP on Sunday as a huge entry of riders turned up to compete in these popular races catering for all senior categories.

The Senior A1-A2 race was held over a distance of 130km and the action was swift from the off. The race stayed pretty much in tact until the halfway mark, when an 8-man break, which included Javan Nulty from North Down CC, Ciaran Handley, McNally Swords CC and Cian Delaney, a native of Swords who competes with Stamullen Road Club, surged ahead of the field.

These riders worked well together to keep a strong distance from their challengers. With just 2km of racing left, Cian Delaney was assessing the opposition and feeling quite strong at the time, threw caution to the wind and went for a gamble that ultimately paid off.

He soloed the final two kilometres right to the finish line, where he scored a magnificent win, his second of the season. Javan Nulty finished (2nd), Paul Kennedy from Newcastle West (3rd), Cian Sutcliffe, Aqua Blue Adademy (4th), Kevin McKinney, Armagh City Cyclists (6th).

Barry Hughes from Drogheda Wheelers CC finished 1st in the Senior A2 section.

In the Senior A3 race, there was a terrific win for Patrick Gorman from Ardee Cycling Club. Ruari White from Clontarf CC took (2nd) and McNally Swords CC Karl McKenna finished (3rd).

The 3rd round of the Mark Mullen Memorial League was held Monday night and as usual, held on a handicap basis. Four separate groups departed the start line with the scratch group heading off with a deficit of four and a half minutes.

The race was very competitive and going out on the final lap it was clear that the scratch men would make contact with the groups ahead and with a lot of hard racing, all their efforts paid dividends and the race came down to a sprint finish.

Here it was a home win for Drogheda Wheelers CC when Niall Craven took an impressive win from Sean Landers from Stamullen RC taking 2nd place, Liam Hanley (Lucan CC) third, Richie McMullen (Ardee CC) fourth, Alan Malone (Ardee CC) fifth and Arek Klus (Stamullen RC), sixth.

In the underage race, Pearce Gorman, Stamullen RC was the victor, followed by Seamus Connor and Darragh Lenehan both members of Drogheda Wheelers CC and Grace Gorman (Stamullen RC) coming home in fourth place.

Also taking place mid-week was the McNally Swords CC Summer League with this event being a 25-mile Time Trial on the Black-Bull-Blackbull circuit.

Again, there were strong entries on the day. The average speed over the time trial circuit was recorded at 40km per hour and at the end it was Ciaran Handley who took the honours in a time of );57:00:263, followed by Ross Collins 0:58:44.027, Mark McCourt 0:59:17.495

John Rowan 0:59:34.795. Derek Humphries 1:00:05.212 , Brian Bolger 1:01:43.056, James Willett 02:30.754, Conor Doyle (VCB) 1:02:39.960, Evan O'Gorman 1:02:44.952 and Peter Doyle 1:03:02.977

The Ladies race resulted in a win for Bernie McNally followed by Bee O Brien, Alicja Roslaniec, Fran Thompson and Niamh Corry.

Next week's League will take place (Wednesday) on the Ardcath/Garristown circuit.

Cuchulainn Cycling Club was out in force on Thursday night last when they promoted the Leinster Time Trial Championships for all category riders held on a 14.5km course at Castlebellingham.

It was victory for Christopher Reilly from Bohermeen CC in the A1 Race. Reilly recorded a time of 18mins:23seconds. Second rider home was Cian Delaney (Stamullen RC) 18mins:24 seconds and Gary Gorman, also from Stamullen RC got the bronze medal in a time of 19:38

In the Senior A2 category, it was Tomas McCabe from Ardee CC who picked up the gold medal, recording a time of 20:25, followed by Mark Nicholls (Lucan CC) 20:44 and bronze going to Bob Hall, Clondalkin CC 21:02.

The winner of the gold medal in the Junior race was Conor McKeown from the promoting Cuchulainn CC in a time of 20:24.

The Ladies Louth Championship results: Celine McPhillips (Cuchulainn CC) 22:49, Claire Ludlow, (Ardee CC) 23:02 and Johanna Rogan (Ardee CC) 23:47


Saturday: Navan Road Club promote the Tommy Brady Memorial at Robinstown, Co. Meath at 17:00

Sunday: Mullingar GP

Monday: 5th Round of Mark Mullen Memorial H/C League at Donore, Drogheda.

Tuesday: Ardee Cycling Club League Race.

Wednesday: McNally Swords Club championships - Ardcath/Garristown circuit.

Drogheda Independent

Promoted Links

Promoted Links