Thursday 18 July 2019

Syddan’s purple patch is in vain

GAA: Meath All-County 'A' League - Wolfe Tones 1-14 Syddan 1-9

After going for 33 minutes without a score, Syddan hit a third-quarter purple patch - but it wasn't enough to prevent them from going down to defeat in this A League Division 1 clash at Ludlow Park on Sunday.

The hosts trailed 0-2 to 0-11 after a one-sided opening half and they went further behind on the restart.

A Daire Rowe pointed free kick-started a revival on 36 minutes and Syddan then added a goal and three further points by the 44th minute to reduce the deficit to three points.

They were still three in arrears after Michael Fedigan pointed on 47 minutes, but their comeback hopes were dashed when Padraic Diamond netted from close range after Fiachra Ward created the opening on 51 minutes.

That left it 1-13 to 1-7 in favour of Tones and was enough to give Tony Kearney's side their first win of the campaign.

With Thomas Blaney in outstanding form in attack, Tones dominated throughout the opening half. The red-haired corner forward proved too hot for the Syddan defence and got his name on five of his side's first-half points.

Michael Fedigan (free) and Kevin Traynor had given Syddan an early lead, but they failed to score again for the remainder of the half.

Blaney added further to Syddan woes at the start of the second half. However the home side grew in confidence as Daire Rowe, Gary Farrelly and Sean Clare struck points.

They were back in contention when substitute Padraic Dillon soloed through before placing a low shot beyond keeper Trevor Browne for a well-taken goal.

Tones responded with only their second point of the half from Fiachra Ward, before Michael Fedigan replied at the other end. Diamond's goal ended Syddan's hopes, however, and Tones held out for a deserved win.

WOLFE TONES: Trevor Browne; Eanna Harrington, Robert White, Conor Sheppard 0-1; Eanna O'Kelly Lynch, Cillian O'Brien, Caolan Ward; Cian O'Neill, Alan Callaghan; Gary McFadden, Cian Ward 0-2, Padraic Diamond 1-0; Thomas Blaney 0-7 (5f), Saran O Fionnagain 0-2, Fiachra Ward 0-2.

SYDDAN: Ciaran Farrelly; Ronan Mooney, Cormac Rowe, Mark Fedigan; Kevin Garland, Andrew Garland, Jack Reid; Sean Clare 0-1, Kevin Traynor 0-1; Graham Garland, Cathal Dardis, Michael Fedigan 0-2 (1f); Paddy Farrelly, Gary Farrelly 0-1, Daire Rowe 0-4 (1f). Subs: Stephen Tallon for A Garland, Gary McManus for Traynor, Padraic Dillon 1-0 for G Garland, Cormac Rafferty for Mark Fedigan, Stuart Fedigan for Mooney.

REF: Seamus O'Connor (Carnaross)

Drogheda Independent