Thursday 14 November 2019

Nobber save their best for final

IFC Final: Nobber 4-16 Trim 0-13

Reserving your best display for the final is the ideal scenario and that is exactly what Nobber did as they blitzed to the IFC title at Pairc Tailteann on Saturday.

Favourites Trim had no answer to the North Meath men who produced a powerful performance to end very impressive winners.

Veteran Brian Farrell and youngster Jordan Morris did most of the damage scoring 1-6 and 2-6 respectively, while little behind them was Sean Meade who also excelled.

At midfield Thomas Murtagh produced a performance that must have caught the eye of of watching Meath boss Andy McEntee.

Farrell pounced for the opening goal on seven minutes and then set up the unstoppable Morris to leave Nobber leading 2-2 to 0-3.

With Aaron Lynch accounting for four points, Trim gradually recovered from the concession of those goals and had put themselves in a good position after James Toher pointed in first half added time to trail by just two, 0-8 to 2-4.

However there was still time for Nobber to end the half comfortable leaders with Morris taking advantage of a mistake in the Trim rearguard to rattle in his second goal and when Farrell added a point it left it 3-5 to 0-8 at the break.

Ciaran O'Rourke pointed for Trim 30 seconds into the second half but that was as close as the town side got. Points from Brian and Niall Farrell and Morris stretched the lead further in the third quarter.

The game was over as a contest when Sean Meade cut in from the right wing and blasted low to the net on 48 minutes to leave it 4-9 to 0-11.

The onslaught continued throughout the final quarter with the winners picking off seven further points.

A bad day for Trim was compounded by the dismissal of Alan Douglas for a second yellow card offence close to the finish.

NOBBER: Dary Hutchinson; Padraig Weldon, Eanna Fagan, Paul Meade; Barry Cassidy, Colin Clarke, Brendan Heffernan; Alan Farrell, Thomas Murtagh; Fiachra McEntee, Andrew O'Brien, Brian Farrell 1-6 (4f); Niall Farrell 0-3, Jordan Morris 2-6 (3f), Sean Meade 1-1. Subs: Stephen O'Brien for Clarke (45), Gerard Campbell for N Farrell (30), Gavin Farrelly for A Farrell (63), Dale Larkin for McEntee (63).

TRIM: Barry O'Callaghan; Cian Downes, Gerard Dwane, Declan Dowling; Darrel Phelan, James Toher 0-1, Paul Munnelly 0-1; Robert Bourke 0-1, Conor Quigley; Ciaran O'Rourke 0-1, James Cullen, Daire Lynch 0-1; Brian Dowling 0-1, Alan Douglas, Aaron Lynch 0-6 (4f, 1 '45). Subs: Luke Moran for Downes (17), Diarmuid Higgins for D Lynch (h-t), Sean Fitzgerald for Bourke (35), Eoin O'Connor for Munnelly (44), Eoin McGrath 0-1 for O'Rourke (54), Brian Bolger for Quigley (55).

REF: Padraig Coyle (Seneschalstown)

Drogheda Independent