Monday 16 September 2019

Late brace leaves Syddan still chasing first win

GAA Meath IFC: Trim 0-12 Syddan 1-8

Syddan are still seeking their first win of the campaign following this narrow defeat in Group B of the IFC at a miserable Pairc Tailteann on Saturday evening.

The conditions made the game something of a lottery, but it was the town side who finished the stronger, registering the final two points to keep their qualification hopes alive.

Corner forward Aaron Lynch was the Trim match-winner, accounting for six points, including the equaliser on 52 minutes and then what proved to be the winning score a minute later.

Syddan did have opportunities to at least snatch a share of the spoils, but their finishing let them down.

There was little to choose between the sides for long stretches and the teams were level on four different occasions before Trim eventually led 0-6 to 0-5 at the break.

Trim then added three further points by the 40th minute to open up a 0-9 to 0-4 lead.

Daire Rowe went close for Syddan, but his effort from an acute angle flashed wide of the target on 42 minutes.

Rowe pointed a free to narrow the gap and the Syddan goal eventually arrived through Cormac Rowe who found himself unmarked in front of the posts and he made no mistake from close range for the equalising score.

Kevin Traynor then added a point to leave Syddan ahead for only the second time on 45 minutes. Lynch responded with the equaliser and then missed a great goal opportunity as keeper Peter Sheehy produced a fine block.

A fisted point from Ryan Summersby put Syddan back in front on 51 minutes, but they failed to add to their tally after that and it was Trim who produced a late burst to snatch a crucial victory.

TRIM: Barry O'Callaghan; Cian Downes, Gerard Dwane, Declan Dowling; Ben Holden, James Toher, Paul Munnelly; Rob Bourke, Conor Quigley 0-1; Ciaran O'Rourke, James Cullen 0-1, Daire Lynch; Brian Dowling 0-1, Alan Douglas 0-3, Aaron Lynch 0-6. Subs: Neil Heffernan for B Dowling (44), Diarmuid Higgins for Holden (48), Ian Bermingham for O'Rourke (BC 60), Ciaran Joyce for D Lynch (BC 62).

SYDDAN: Peter Sheehy; Mark Fedigan, Jack Reid, Kevin Garland; Cormac Rowe 1-0, Andrew Garland, Michael Fedigan; Sean Clare 0-1, Kevin Traynor 0-2; Paddy Farrelly, Cathal Dardis, Daire Rowe 0-3 (2f); Graham Garland, Gary Farrelly 0-1, Padraic Dillon. Subs: Stuart Fedigan for Dardis (h-t), Ryan Summersby 0-1 for G Farrelly (39), Cormac Rafferty for Dillon (59).

REF: Joey Curley (Moynalty)

Drogheda Independent