Monday 22 July 2019

East Meath side secure two wins

The Championship: 'B' Leagues

Sean Wall

Two wins in the space of three days secured Duleek-Bellewstown's B League Division 2 status for another year.

The east Meath side recorded a facile 3-21 to 0-7 win over Nobber and followed that up with a 3-13 to 3-12 victory over Dunboyne on Thursday evening.

Daire Moore struck the winning point to complete a great revival after Dunboyne enjoyed a nine point lead at one stage.

Dunboyne opened up an eight point lead in the opening half but with Darren Heeney, Podge Howard and Cian Kelly prominent in the scoring Duleek-Bellewstown managed to reduce the deficit to the minimum by half-time.

All that good work was undone in the third quarter as Dunboyne hit a purple patch scoring two quick goals and two points to pull well clear once more.

The game was in the final quarter when Cianan Byrne and Darren Heeney both netted and a third goal, this time from a Podge Howard free left the sides level.

Moore's winning point was the first time that his side led in the game.

DULEEK-BELLEWSTOWN: F Hartford; M McGarvey, G Reilly, R Caffrey; C Woods, D Teeling, J Carolan; C Byrne, P Howard; D Heeney, C Kelly, P Callaghan; D Moore, W Cudden, A O'Brien.

A 5-15 to 2-13 victory over Rathkenny on Friday evening secured promotion and a place in the Division 3 decider for Curraha. It was Curraha's eight win from their nine outings and they could yet meet Rathkenny in the decider but Walterstown's look their more likely opponents.

Andrew Coyle hit 3-3 for the winners with two of the goals coming in the opening half while his brother Gavin ended with a personal tally of 2-7.

The game was 13 a side and at half-time Curraha led 3-5 to 1-7. Gavin Coyle opened his side's account with a goal but Rathkenny remained in contention throughout the half.

Rathkenny reduced the deficit on the restart but Curraha gradually gained the upperhand with Ciaran Phelan knocking over three points.

CURRAHA: PJ McMahon, C Joyce, S McDermott, R Dwyer, S O'Hanrahan, R McEntee, N McLarnon 0-1, R Reid, I Battersby, E McGovern 0-1, G Coyle 2-7, C Phelan 0-3, A Coyle 3-3.

In Division 1 of the B League Seneschalstown defeated St Colmcille's 7-10 to 3-7. Keeper David Gordon netted from the penalty spot for Seneschalstown in the opening half but at half-time it was the Cille's who led 3-6 to 2-4.

The second half proved to be one-way traffic after Edward Meade found the net on the restart and Eoin Finnegan quickly added another.

Keeper Gordon saved a penalty and the Seneschalstown goal spree continued with further goals from Brian Sheridan, Simon Rooney and Jamie Kirwan.

SENESCHALSTOWN: David Gordon 1-0; Peter Tierney, Simon Rooney 1-0, David Fox; Neil Darby, Jamie Kirwan 1-0, Padraig Finnegan; Stephen Finnegan, 0-1, Edward Meade 1-0; Jonathan Gilsenan 0-4, James Meade 0-1, Ross Howard; Eoin Finnegan 1-2, Brian Sheridan 1-2, Brendan Lynch 1-0. Subs: Damien Sheridan for Tierney, Shane Mulvany for E Meade.

Drogheda Independent