Monday 18 December 2017

Adventure ends for College

GORMANSTON College's run in this year's Senior Schools D Championship finally came to an end at the All-Ireland semi-final stage against the Ulster champions, St Joseph's Crossmaglen.

Playing with the aid of a strong wind in the first half, Gormanston never really got into their stride and struggled for long periods against a very fit and mobile Crossmaglen outfit. St Joseph's scored the first point and followed it up with a goal shortly afterwards to give them the near perfect start. Gormanston tagged on points from Dylan Brady, Scott Shier and Cillian Curran to level at 1-1 to 0-4 midway through the half.

Crossmaglen notched three further points to open up a lead before Evan Murphy went on a fantastic solo run from wing back to score a superb goal to keep the maroon boys in the game.

Dylan Brady then knocked over the lead point to leave it 1-5 to 1-4 at half-time.

However that was a fragile lead for Gormanston as they had played with the elements throughout the opening half and Crossmaglen who had dominated possession for long periods also looked very dangerous in attack.

The second half began with a renewed intensity from the Gormanston team as they fought for every ball but still struggled to put scores on the board. Crossmaglen's dominance eventually started to pay dividends and they opened up a five point advantage.

Another fine individual goal from Evan Murphy reduced the deficit to two and kept Gormanston in the game entering the final quarter.

Although Gormanston battled bravely right to the finish, Crossmaglen kept it extremely tight in defence and were able to work the ball for match-winning scores in attack.

Gormanston though can have few complaints as their forwards only scored one point for the entire hour. Scott Shier and Dylan Brady were outstanding and were well supported by Sean Hayes and Nick Smith in defence, while Evan Murphy kept the team in the game with two fine individual goals.

GORMANSTON: O Berg; J Conway, C Harrington, N Smith; E Murphy 2-0, D Brady 0-3, S Hayes; C McGinley, S Shier 0-2; T Downes, C Curran 0-1, A Mulvany; N Cahill, C Niall, A Carberry. Subs: C Sullivan for Carberry, J Keenan for Cahill.

Drogheda Independent

Promoted Links

Promoted Links