Wednesday 24 July 2019

STEM schools selected

Minister for Business, Enterprise, and Innovation, Heather Humphreys TD, together with Minister of State for Training, Skills, Innovation, Research and Development, John Halligan TD, has announced that 12 Louth primary schools have received a Science Foundation Ireland (SFI) Discover Primary Science and Maths Award (DPSM).

The programme aims to increase interest in science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) among primary school students and teachers.

The Awards recognise the achievements of children and teachers in the application of STEM in their curriculum. This includes keeping a log of STEM activities they have undertaken throughout the school year such as classroom investigations and projects, participating in STEM-related field trips and hosting a scientist or engineer speaker visit.

The recipient schools from Louth are: Scoil Mhuire gan Smál, Kilkerley National School (Badge of Excellence for STEM Awareness), Dromin National School, Dromiskin Mixed National School, Faughart Community National School, Marymount National School Scoil Náisiúnta Muire na Trocaire, Scoil Náisiúnta Glasain Naomh Peadar, Scoil Mhuire na nGael, St. Josephs National School, St. Marys Parish Primary School, St. Oliver's National School, Gaelscoil Dhun Dealgan.

Drogheda Independent