Monday 24 June 2019

Parishes must change

Fr Tony Gonoude and Fr David Bradley who are leaving the area
Fr Tony Gonoude and Fr David Bradley who are leaving the area

Hubert Murphy

The need for closer co-operation between parishes due to the lack of ordinations has proved critical in key decisions in the Diocese of Meath.

Bishop Deenihan has put in place structures in two areas where priests will work in close cooperation. In Duleek and Donore, Fr. John Conlon will continue in the role of Parish priest of Duleek and will become Administrator of Donore. Fr. Michael Hinds will become curate to both Duleek and Dorore, residing in Donore.

In a statement, the diocese added, 'Fr David Bradley will leave Holy Family, Drogheda after twenty five years and will become Parish Priest of Multyfarnham. Fr. Phil Gaffney, currently PP of Saint Mary's Drogheda, will become, in addition, Administrator of Holy Family, Drogheda. Both Fr. Cyprian Solomon and Fr. Conor Magree will become curates to both the Drogheda parishes and Fr. Magee will reside in Holy Family Parish. Bishop Deenihan acknowledged the work that Fr. Bradly had given to the parish of Holy Family, Drogheda for the past twenty five years and said that he was very much appreciated by the people there for whom he worked so selflessly.'

Bishop Deenihan said that such cooperation was desirable in the context of sharing resources and providing support but also in the context of the decline in the number of priests. There is no priestly Ordination in the Diocese of Meath this year. Bishop Deenihan said that it was vital that parishes did all they could to encourage and support vocations to the priesthood in the diocese.

Local changes include: Fr. Joe Deegan to be PP Clara. Fr. Tony Gonoude, Adm, Donore to be PP, Ballynacargy. Fr. Michael Hinds, CC Dunboyne to be CC Duleek and CC Donore.

Fr. Conor Magee, CC Clara to be CC Holy Family, Drogheda and CC Saint Mary's, Drogheda residing in Holy Family. Fr. Noel Weir, CC Laytown/Mornington to be AP Navan, Pro Tem

Fr. Cyprian Solomon, CC Clara to be CC Saint Mary's Drogheda and CC Holy Family, Drogheda. Fr. Fergal Cummins, CC Drogheda to be CC Tullamore. Fr. Joseph Apust, Diocese of Minna, Nigeria to be CC Laytown/Mornington and Post-Graduate Studies, Maynooth.

Fr Patrick Keary, who was ordained in 1965 in Maynooth, has retired. he was appointed as CC Holy Family in 1992 and appointed PP Holy Family 1994 and Clara 2005.

Drogheda Independent