Sunday 21 July 2019

Neighbours will be voting for different candidates in elections

Hubert Murphy

Next door neighbours living in Drogheda face the prospect of having to vote for a range of different candidates at the next local elections in May.

One area will be in Drogheda Rural - where four councillors will be elected - and those on the other side of the boundary line, will vote in six councillors in Drogheda Urban.

Unlike the last local elections when 10 councillors were elected to represent the population within the borough and the fringes of the town, 2019 will be a totally new ball game.

The town will be split by a boundary line that will see a number of areas divided up.

It is also likely to make canvassing very interesting.

The main features are that part of Rosehall and Whitethorn will be rural with the likes of Castlemanor, part of Forest Grange, Matson Lodge, one third of Brookville, half of College Rise, Newtown Meadows, Harmony Heights, and Boyne Hall.

The 'boundary line' runs around the town, cutting through the likes of Brookville and right across the St Joseph's Secondary School playing pitches. These areas will group with areas such as Clogherhead, Termonfeckin and Tullyallen.

The Census town of Drogheda has a population of 40,956. However, this population is split between Louth and Meath - the population of Drogheda in county Louth is 34,508, which represents 26.8% of the total population of the county.

With a population of 128,884 and 29 members, the individual average population per council member in Louth is 4,444. The terms of reference require a variance from individual average local authority representation within the range of plus or minus 10%. For Louth, this represents a range of between 4,000 and 4,888.

That means more people need to be addded to the Drogheda Rural area to make up four seats as the population is 17,876. The area is made up of Clogher, Monasterboice, St. Peter's and Termonfeckin.

Drogheda Urban has 27,656, resulting in six seats. It's key areas are Fair Gate, St Lawrence Gate, St. Mary's and West Gate.

Drogheda Independent