Wednesday 24 January 2018

Couples paired off ahead of duels on the dancefloor

Denise Moynagh and Sean Kennedy.
Denise Moynagh and Sean Kennedy.
Denise Moynagh and Sean Kennedy.
Aisling Byrne with Robert Moynagh, Eoghan Osborne, Ronan Ballantine and Blaine Feely.

THE long-awaited pairings for Strictly Come Dancing, in aid of Naomh Fionnbarra, Juvenile, Ladies Football and St. Anne's Camogie, Togher, were revealed in front of a large crowd in The Glyde Inn, Annagassan.

Chairperson of the Strictly committee and MC on the night, Mark McArdle commenced proceedings by welcoming everyone including the 32 dancers, Rosaleen Butterly and Peter Fitzpatrick who will be two of the four judges who will be adjudicating on the night of the final.

Mark thanked Oxygen who are the main sponsors of the event, the local businesses for sponsorship and advertisements, David Corrigan who will be taking many photographs over the weeks and local media for their coverage.

As the dancers lined up in anticipation, the all important sealed envelopes (for added effect of course) were handed over by the choreographer to Mark. There were some predicted partnerships and also some surprises which added to the occasion.

The pairings are:

Brendan McGrath and Caroline Darby, Emer Connor and Gordon Woods, Colm Markey and Sarah Gray, Brenda Flynn and Paddy Byrne, Eddie Caffrey and Caroline Hoey, Karen Leonard and John Carron, Ronan Ballintine and Denise Caffrey, Darren O'Neill and Maria Harmon, Shaun Kennedy and Isabel Corrigan, Martin Bannon and Sharon Carter, Máirtín Murphy and Denise Moynagh, Aisling Shelvin and Robert Moynagh, Eoghan Osborne and Linda Woods, Andy McCann and Aisling Bryne, Eilish Kearney and Blaine Feely, Anthony Geraghty and Bridain McQuillan.

The couples now have four weeks to practice their dance routines before the final on Saturday, May 3, in the TLT, Drogheda. Tickets are available from any dancer or committee member and are priced at €25 each.

Proceeds in aid of development of club facilities at John Markey Park, Ballygassan.

Drogheda Independent

Promoted Links

Promoted Links