Drogheda Independent

| 21.5°C Dublin

Boyne Rovers Ladies FC question answered

I ASKED about Boyne Rovers ladies soccer team last week and my thanks to a contact for the info carried below.

Boyne Rovers ladies were formed after a meeting on November 16th 1983 and they played their vfirst competitive match against Grove Hotspurs winning 1-0 with Joan Conaghy scoring the only goal .

The team on that day was Yvonne Duff, Denise Sheridan, Mairead Foyle, Eithne Dyas, Linda Reilly, Gabrielle Byrne, Dorothy Shelbourne, Liz Shields, Anne Geoghegan, Joan Conaghy and Mags Garry. Sub, Jacinta Mackle.

In 1984 they won the Breen Cup beating St Brigids 5-0 with goals from Louise Cavanagh ( 3) and Bernie Rooney (2) and they also took the Leinster Ladies league title.

The under 17s won the FAI under 17 beating Limerick 3-2 in the final with goals from Rita Rooney (2) and Mary Smith and the LFAI under 19 Cup, beating St Columbans 2-1 with Bernie Rooney and Louise Cavanagh scoring .

In 1985 they retained their LFAI under 19 title beating Cork Celtic 3-0 in the final. Fiona Grogan, Louise Cavanagh and Patricia Farrell all scored.

They won the Leinster Shield Final, played at Parkview, beating Sparks 4-0 with two goals from Anne Geoghegan and Patricia Farrell and Louise Cavanagh also scoring. They won the National Ladies 5-a-side beating Rathfarnam 5-0 in the final.

And not only that, they lost out on two FAI Cup finals to Benfica of Waterford and Rathfarnam.