Thursday 17 January 2019

Louis - they are good!

X Factor judge will be left with some tough decisions at grand final

Hubert Murphy

X Factor judge Louis Walsh and fellow decision makers will have a tough time trying to select the winner of the 2018 Secondary School Stars if the heats of the competition are anything to go by.

The TLT saw an awesome parade of talent for two nights last week - and now the task is picking a winner.

Thursday's show produced a stunning night, beginning with Ashbourne band Public Warning and warming into a haunting evening by times, Kaelah Maguire from Ballymakenny College simply unique, Saoirse Hayden fantastic, and Tadgh Lynch (14) a majestic piano player.

Abo Obhakham danced her heart out and Katie and Aoife Lynch from Sacred Heart a remarkable duet. Rachel Akanu's 'lovely tone' impressed judge Saoirse Kavanagh and Oisin Dunne's dancing feet were exceptional. Laura and Abbey Rice were full of energy and the Elite Dance Crew were well versed in entertaining the crowd.

Loads of emotion came via Amy Kavanagh and Aoife Walsh's 'Photograph' was also unique. Ashley Abbedeen's control of 'American Boy' was described as 'ridiculous' by judge Saoirse Kavanagh, the Greenhills girl spellbinding on the night. Naoise Duffy from Dundalk is another contender and Sarah Maxwell's traditional voice captivated the audience, judge Amie Dyer remarked.

Daire Grant Andrews was very polished, Lauren Crosby had all the moves and St Oliver's choir, with a song written by member, Patrick, focused on abuse against women and was equally stunning.

The qualifiers were:  Tadgh Lynch, Elite Dance Crew, Ashley Abbedeen, Katie & Aoife Lynch, Oisin Dunne, Naoise Duffy.

Audience Vote: Daire Grant Andrews, Lauren Crosby, Sarah Maxwell, Abo Obhakham, Public Warning, Laura & Abbey Rice.

Wildcard: Adam Mooney

Last Tuesday also proved to be a sparkling night and the qualifiers are: Audience Vote 1. Tribe 2. Neil Murray 3. Ruairi Holohan  4.Ailish Carroll 5. Farai Chari, 6. Scoil Ui Mhuiri Choir.

Judges Vote; Sarah Yeats,  Finn Fitzgerald,  Faoi Gheasa,  Coinneach Farrell,  Alex Gormley,  Michael Mc Donnell.

Drogheda Independent