Sunday 19 January 2020

Ardee band finish on a high note

Ardee Concert Band had plenty to celebrate in 2019 and hosted over 130 musicians in the Bohemian Centre Stage at their end of year event.

Their National Title winning Senior band were 1st to the stage under the Baton of Newly appointed conductor Ronan O'Reilly. Jenny Satelle , a member of the senior band directed the Recorder group through 2 pieces only 3 months after they joined the band.

Next the Junior band who again have only been in a band setting for 3 months gave an outstanding performance with their conductor and senior band member Jane Healy.

The Ardee Intermezzo Ensemble gave a finale performance to the 1st half of the show with Kevin Reilly at the helm. The senior band once again took to the stage for the second half of the show.

'Thanks to all for coming and supporting us as always. Thanks to all our helpers on all sides of the concert. Well done to Dara Reilly receiving her New Art set for winning the christmas poster competition,' PRO Sinead Nutley stated.

Many acalades were presented on the night for determination, Hard work, improvement and dedication.

Congratulations to Holly Caraher on receiving the award for most improved members of the Junior Band, to Aoibheann Murray on most improved youth member in the Intermezzo Ensemble receiving the Stephen Lynch Perpetual Trophy. To Roisin Brennan; Well done on receiving the Sean Matthews Award for most improved senior band member & to Jenny Mckeever and Sinéad Nutley on 21 years of Membership.

Last and most definitely not least the final acalades of the night went to Kevin Reilly and Peter Mckeever. They both received Honorary Lifetime Membership for all their Hard work and dedication to the Band with over 100 years membership between both of them!

You will be able to catch these talented musicians at the Ardee Parish Carol Service on sunday 22nd December in Ardee Church at 7pm and again on Christmas Day at 12.30pm mass. They will also be playing carols on Christmas eve at various locations in Ardee.

Drogheda Independent