Wednesday 13 December 2017

Under-18s reach Youths Cup quarter final

CHARLEVILLE under18s advanced to the quarter finals of the Munster Youths Cup last Sunday with a hard-earned victory over a strong Newcastle West outfit at the Moatville grounds in Charleville.

The home side started brightly and Gary Ward was unlucky to see his shot go over the bar after five minutes. Both defences were well on top and few chances were created in the first half with each side giving away possession on a regular basis.

Newcastlewest took the lead after 25 minutes when Charleville lost possession in the middle of the field. A long ball over the top deceived the home defence and the Newcastlewest striker rounded Matt Roche before firing to the empty net for a well taken goal.

This goal seemed to give Charleville the wake-up call they needed as they went in search of an equaliser and, after 40 minutes, Charleville made it 1-1 when Mark O'halloran won possession and played a good ball into the area to Gary Ward. Gary controlled well before hitting a right foot shot inside the keeper's left post for an important goal just before half time.

The second half saw few clear cut chances. Gavin Mullins and Jeremy Bridgeman organised the defence well and Paul Moloney dominated the middle with Keith Dundon, Tony Whitehead and Dean Copps and Shane Dillon were always a threat up front.

The lead goal came after 35 minutes. Tony whitehead played a great through ball to Keith Dundon inside the area, Keith squared the ball to Shane Dillon who saw his first time effort come back off the crossbar, however Shane was first to react and headed to the net. Newcastlewest came in search of an equaliser immediately and forced three corner kicks.

From one of these they thought they had scored but Matt Roche somehow got his hand to the ball for a superb save. From the resultant corner Charleville cleared to Dean Copps on the half way line and with the visiting keeper having gone forward for the corner Dean ran 40 yards before passing to an empty net to send Charleville through to round 5 on a 31 score line.

Team: Matt Roche, Mark O' Halloran, Alan Mccourt, Jeremy Bridgeman, Gavin Mullins, Tony Whitehead, Keith Dundon, Paul Moloney, Sean Mccormack, Gary Ward, Shane Dillon, Dean Copps, Daniel Morey, Darren Casey, Brian O'connell, Jamie Moloney, Darren Butler, Dean Foley Fox, Alan Mortell, Brendan Murphy, Paul Dewein, Chris Kenny.

Promoted Links

Promoted Links