Monday 23 October 2017

Macroom take U13 league with four star performance

Denis Canty

Macroom 4 Watergrasshill 1 MARCROOM'S U13s secured the U13 Division 4 title, beating Watergrasshill 4-1 at Murray Field, Macroom on Saturday. It is this sides third league title in a row, a great achievement.

The game started at a frantic pace, with a large amount of the play in the centre of the pitch, with Macroom's Kevin O'Dwyer and Watergrasshill's Thomas O'Connor battling well. Macroom hit the front on nine minutes, when Marco Healy was put through on goal, calmly looped it over the advancing Eoin Hammond before heading into the empty net. A classic goal.

The away side have shown plenty of fight this season, and were competing well. They nearly grabbed an equaliser on 15 minutes, but Denis Hegarty's effort went just wide. The home side started to get the ball wide, and got reward on 21. Marco Healy punished the away side to get Macroom's second goal, when a low cross from Cathal O'Riordan was expertly finished by Healy. Although both sides had plenty of possession, clear cut chances were few and far between for the remainder of the half, especially for the away side.

Watergrasshill started the second half well, getting the ball out to the wide areas, trying to cut the deficit. They achieved that in the 38th minute, when Dylan Ring's burst into the box from out wide allowed him to pick out Adam Murphy for an easy finish.

The 'Hill were looking for an equaliser now, and were pushing hard for it, and Macroom were hitting on the break. The home side got through another nervous moment on 44, when again Murphy forced a fine save from David Kelleher. It was the home side who got the crucial next goal, a superb pass from Cathal O'Riordan found Robert Healy, who found the bottom corner on 51 giving Hammond no chance.

Macroom got a fourth with two minutes remaining, with Healy turning provider to find subsitute Jack O'Donovan, who clinically beat Hammond.

MACROOM: David Kelleher, James Murphy, Cathal O'Riordan, Alan Quinn, Craig Ronan, Don Creedon, Robert Healy, Kevin O'Dwyer, Christy McCarthy, Marco Healy, Paul O'Farrell. Subs: Ethan O'Gorman, Jack O'Donovan, Mark Healy, Conor Cronin

WATERGRASSHILL: Eoin Hammond, Christopher Prendergast, Aaron Collins, PJ Dennehy, Conor O'Brien, Thomas O'Connor, Dylan Ring, Kyle Cronin, Adam Murphy, Denis Hegarty, Josh Cooke. Sub: Dylan McCarthy