Wednesday 22 November 2017

Heavy defeat for Liscarroll

Aghada 1-9

Liscarroll 0-3 AGHADA got the Cavanagh's Fermoy Avondhu-imokilly Division 1 Football league off to a winning start when they were deserving winners over last year's North Cork league champions Liscarroll at Rostellan on Friday night.

Aghada fielded a strong side with many players with senior experience in their lineout while Liscarroll were short key players Thomas Fitzgibbon, Thomas Fehin, Shane Coleman Tim Egan and Darren Coleman. Scores were scarce early on with Conor O'driscoll opening the scoring in the fourth minute.

Good work by impressive Ger Melvin picked out David Creedon who goaled. Bobby Rea was Liscarroll's only scorer having their first point in the 14th minute. The Avondhu men were reduced to 14 players in the 18th minute. The home side had a pointed free by Conor O'driscoll in the closing moments that gave them an interval lead 1-2 to 0-1.

Aghada dominated the second half with John Wall, Brendan O'flaherty, Colm Power, Paudie Wall, and Ger Melvin in great form. Paudie Wall pointed on the restart with Bobby Rea replying from a free. Further Aghada pressure yielded points by Conor O'driscoll and Ger Melvin 1-5 to 0-2 after 43 minutes.

Aghada were reduced to 14 players and they showed the greater team work and pace as drizzly conditions made it slippery during the last quarter. Two points each by Tony Wall and Conor O'driscoll opened up a 1-9 to 0-2 lead entering the final moments. Liscarroll completed the scoring with a late punched point by Bobby Rea.

AGHADA: P Kavanagh, B Wall, S Wall, M Gilroy, T Hartnett, J Wall, A Creedon, B O'flaherty, A O'connor, C Power, G Melvin 0-1, P Wall 0-1, C O'driscoll 0-5 (0-2f), D Creedon 1-0, T Wall 0-2. Subs: C Rice for A Creedon, W Leahy for D Creedon, E O'neill for A O'connell

LISCARROLL: P Morrissey, D Feehan, J O'callaghan, D Stokes, P Barrett, D Fisher, A Mcmahon, S Murphy, K Curtin, S Sheehan, J Breen, B Rea 0-3 (0-1f), S Healy, P Mcmahon, M Naughton. Subs J Maher for S Healy, M Fitzpatrick for J Breen, P Egan for D Stokes

Promoted Links

Promoted Links