Tuesday 12 December 2017

Abundance of talent at Mallow Golf Club Captain's Prize event

Mary Dowling presenting her husband Joe's Captain's Prize to the winner, David Forde.
Mary Dowling presenting her husband Joe's Captain's Prize to the winner, David Forde.

MALLOW Golf Club was a hive of activity and excitement last weekend as the final round of Club Captain Joe Dowling's prize was up for decision.

The 77 players who qualified from the previous weekend would have all felt they were in with a shout of this year's title as only eight shots covered the field in the glorious weekend weather.

Mark Howell (15) went into the final round as leading qualifier with David Curtin (10) and James Cotter (22) hot on his heels with only one shot separating the trio. While there was little doubt that the three men teeing off in the last group were in great shape going into the final 18 holes the day would ultimately prove to be a bridge too far for the trio with David Forde (7) romping home from two shots back to take the title with a magnificent 64.

Forde's brilliant round gave him a combined tally of 132 which was one shot better than three times runner up John Sheehan (20) with Andy Daly (9) a shot further back on 134.

This being the Captain's Prize there were a host of prizes to be picked up at a post competition event at the Ballyellis clubhouse on Saturday night with Alan Daly (5) taking the Gross Award with a score of 148. Campbell McIntosh (13) came in fourth after holding the clubhouse lead earlier in the day. Others to pick up prizes were Stephen Lyons , Tony Murphy, Leslie Good with Mark Howell taking the leading qualifier awards. Michael Jennings, Patrick Browne, Cotter and Curtin all took home some spoils with David Walsh taking away the best past Captain/President title with a very creditable tally of 139.

The day, however, belonged to Forde who joins a long and prestigious list of winners of Mallow's major golfing event of the year.

There was also a ladies' nine-hole event held over the weekend with Joan Cronin Jenks (29) winning out on a score of 23 points which was two points clear of Mary Callanan (26) with a score of 21 pts.

Away from the Captain's Prize there was also a three day stableford event which was taken by Jason Lehane (17) with an impressive score of 44 pts. Lehane took the title from Ronan Galvin (13) by a single point with Declan Walsh (20) finishing on the same tally. Aonghus Gannon (5) took the Gross prize with a score of 33 with Barry Finn (15) winning Best Friday, Paul Hayes (18) Best Saturday and Mario Fallone (18) taking the Best Sunday prize.


Promoted Links

Promoted Links