Tuesday 24 April 2018

Kanturk goal rush secures win in Dromtariffe blitz

Kanturk were thrilled at their win over Glenville in the Brian Cromin Memorial Cup at Dromtariffe.
Kanturk were thrilled at their win over Glenville in the Brian Cromin Memorial Cup at Dromtariffe.

A power packed performance from Kanturk helped produce a scoring spree to better a brave Glenville to claim the Brian Cronin Memorial Cup in the Dromtariffe juvenile GAA promoted U-10 football blitz final hosted at Rathcoole.

U-10 football blitz FINAL

Kanturk 9-10

Glenville 3-2

Sixteen teams drawn from Avondhu, Imokilly, Muskerry, Duhallow and East Kerry competed with the preliminary rounds operating in a round robin league played on four pitches. Munster championship excitement was waved aside as the young boys and girls involved returned the maximum in the commitment stakes as the action ebbed and flowed left and right.

Ultimately, visiting teams from Duhallow and Muskerry had reason to feel satisfied to land the spoils on offer. From a game that ebbed and flowed in the premier decider, Kanturk grabbed the necessary scores to sweep home in an outstanding team effort from a side captained by Tommy Walsh, younger brother of Aidan.

That said, Glenville never relented and their efforts ensured scores after the break. However Kanturk were rewarded in a productive spell in both halves to collect the silverware.

Indeed, Kanturk got off to the perfect start with a goal netted by Grantis Buanaskas that helped his side command an early advantage. Glenville attempted to come into the picture though they found it difficult to work their way into shooting positions.

A wind assisted Kanturk remained the more dangerous with additional goals from Buanaskas, Colm and Tommy Walsh helped secure a 5-7 to 0-0 interval advantage. And Kanturk proceeded to grab control of matters upon the resumption yet Glenville managed to stem the tide from a hat trick of goals to substitute Seán Murphy.

However in the remaining time available, Kanturk's class was never in doubt, Buanaskas completed a five goal tally that safe guarded an impressive triumph for the Duhallow boys.

Delighted Kanturk captain Tommy Walsh accepted the Brian Cronin Memorial Trophy from Peter Cronin.

KANTURK: C Carroll, C Vaughan, J Sheehan, D O'Donoughue, L O'Mahony, T Walsh, O O'Connor, C Walsh, B Hogan, G Buanaskas, S Birmingham, D Moylan. Subs: J Quirke, B Healy, K O'Driscoll, P O'Sullivan, L Breen, A Watson.

GLENVILLE: C O'Reilly, A Chandler, C O'Regan, B Lehane, D Sheehan, B Nodwell, D O'Sullivan, Eoin Fitzgerald, Eanna Fitzgerald, M O'Donoughue, C O'Keeffe. Subs: B Whelan, L O'Keeffe, M O'Driscoll, S Murphy.

Referee: S O'Sullivan (Dromtariffe)