Wednesday 17 January 2018

Minor 'A' title for Dromtarriffe hurlers

Dromtarriffe winners over Ballyhead in the Cavanaghs of Chasrleville Rebel Og Nortth Cork MAHC Final. Picture: John Tarrant
Dromtarriffe winners over Ballyhead in the Cavanaghs of Chasrleville Rebel Og Nortth Cork MAHC Final. Picture: John Tarrant

DROMTARRIFFE after the hard work of promoting hurling in the club in recent years were rewarded on Saturday when they took their first ever MAHC title.

Rebel Og Northern Region MAHC final

Dromtarriffe 0-18 Ballyhea 2-10

This was the Cavanagh's Charleville sponsored Rebel Og Northern Region final at Newtownshandrum, It was a very keenly contested decided.

The sides had met in last year final with Ballyhea coming out on top. On this occasion the Dromtarrife side had to lineout without their injured captain Denis O'Donoghue

Ballyhea were first to score through Pat O'Callaghan. Sean Howard levelled from a free in the 3rd minute. Howard with two frees gave the winners a 0-3 to 0-1 lead. Ballyhea struck for a goal by Pat O'Callaghan in the 8th minute. Good work by Daniel Relihan led to another point by O'Callaghan. Both sides were off target with impressive Sean Howard pointing a '65'.

Further pressure by the Duhallow side saw a very good clearance by Peadar Duggan to Sean Howard who found Sean Cremin who forced Mikey Browne kin the Ballyhea goal to make a very good save with the rebound coming to Sean Howard who levelled.

Dromtarriffe won the lions share of possession in the air and they exerted alot of pressure on the Ballyhea backline. Good work by Aaron Daly led to a Stephen Aherne point with Daly again involved in placing Aherne for another point in quick succession. Liam Barrett replied for Ballyhea but it was the Duhallow side who showed very good form coming up to the break adding points by Jack Murphy, Sean Howard (free) and Stephen Aherne. In injury time Ballyhea closed the gap with points by Pat O'Callaghan and Eugene O'Leary 0-10 to 1- 5 at the break.

Sean Howard and Pat O'Callaghan exchanged a point on the resumption with Mark O'Connor sending over in the 40th minute 0-12 to 1- 6. Ballyhea struck a purple patch, their defence tightened up alot with Luke Hanley Liam O'Shea and Michael Hedigan doing well. They forced level by the 46th minute with points by Liam Barrett and Pat O'Callaghan (2) frees 0-12 to 1-9.

Dromtarriffe again picked up their game, they defended heroically and hit the front with points by Sean Howard from (free) and play. Good work for Ballyhea by Mark Crowley to Pat O'Callaghan led to a good save by Michael O'Brien. In the 55th minute Ballyhea hit the front when Jonathan McCarthy placed Liam Barrett who scored a great goal 2-9 to 0-14. Howard levelled from a free and extra time looked very likely. Jack Murphy had a long range point with O'Callaghan again levelling from a free as the game entered injury time.

Five minutes of injury time saw both side have their chances. Dromtarriffe's Kevin Cremin was very impressive and he placed Conor Cremin for the lead point. Conor Cremin had another point. Ballyhea forced a '65' deep in injury time needing a goal to win. The '65' dropped short and was cleared with the final whistle sounding.

2013 marked a very good season for Dromtarriffe as they were also winners of the Under 16 A HC title.

DROMTARRIFFE: M O'Brien, P Duggan, S McSweeney, P O'Callaghan, J Murphy 0-2, B O'Gorman, M Healy, S O'Keeffe, K Cremin, S Howard 0-10 (0-7f, 0-1 '65') S Cremin, J Burke, M O'Connor 0-1, A Daly, S Aherne 0-3. Subs: C Cremin 0-2 for J Burke, D Condon for P O'Callaghan (inj)

BALLYHEA: M Browne, J Harty, L O'Shea, J O'Leary, N Crowley, L Hanley, M Hedigan, J McCarthy, M Crowley, S Murphy, D Relihan, L Barrett 1-2, P O'Callaghan 1-6 (0-4f), E O'Leary 0-2, A Mortell. Sub: A Santon for A Mortell.

Referee: S Stokes (Tullylease)


Promoted Links

Promoted Links