| 10.5°C Dublin

Liscarroll/Churchtown Gaels are impressive winners over Kildorrey in U-21 hurling final


Sean Killeen scored 1-14 for Liscarroll / Churchtown Gaels

Sean Killeen scored 1-14 for Liscarroll / Churchtown Gaels

Sean Killeen scored 1-14 for Liscarroll / Churchtown Gaels



Liscarroll/Churchtown Gaels 2-22

Kildorrery 2-9

A well balanced Liscarroll/Churchtown Gaels emerged deserving winners over Kildorrery in the 2022 Under 21 C HC final at Kildorrery on Sunday. Luke Keating had the opening score for the home side. Sean Killeen levelled after seven minutes. Good play by KiIleen led to a lead point by Josh Hudner. Gaels had points by Sean Killeen and Caylem O'Callaghan as they moved 0-5 to 0-1 ahead.

This is Cork Newsletter

Cork's essential reads in local news and sport, straight to your inbox every week

This field is required

Luke Keating replied for Kildorrery. Kildorrery were wide from a number of frees. Sean Delee landed a long point for Gaels who now led 0-7 to 0-3. Kildorrery were back in the hunt when Kieran Hurley goaled 0-7 to 1-3. Luke Keating pointed a long range free to level.

Kildorrery forced a late penalty when Fionan Walsh O'Grady was fouled. Luke Keating had his penalty well saved by Gearoid Healy. Keating and Sean Killeen exchanged a point. Kildorrery had their second goal in the 26th minute by David Hunter as they edged 2-5 to 0-9 ahead.

Gaels were quick to reply with Caylem O'Callaghan finishing to the net 1- 9 to 2-5. In the closing moments Gaels forced a penalty. Sean Killeen's effort was brilliantly saved by Timmy O'Sullivan with the rebound going up high and striking the far off post and dropping straight into the keeper Timmy O'Sullivan's hand. The half time whistle saw Gaels lead 1-9 to 0-5.

The second half was all Gaels. They were on top in the half backline and midfield sectors. Their attack in regular supply took some very good scores. Sean Killeen had five points in succession as they edged 1-14 to 2-5 ahead. The 'Hill' replied with three pointed frees by Luke Keating. Good play by Sean Killeen and Vincent Daly led to a fine point by Josh Quinn 1-17 to 2- 9.

Killeen had a goal for Gaels and they added five more points without reply to take the title.

After the game Barry Aherne Cultural Officer Avondhu Board presented the cup to the injured captain Colin Healy. Sean Killeen was named 'man of the match'.

LISCARROLL/CHURCHTOWN GAELS: Gearoid Healy, Oisin Hudner, James Buckley, Tommy Morrissey, Brian O'Connor, Seamus O'Callaghan, Vincent Daly 0-1, Sean Delee 0-2, Donal Jones, Colin Healy, Josh Hudner 0-3, Sean Killeen 1-14 (0-11f), Josh Quinn 0-1, Darren Fehin, Caylem O'Callaghan 1-1. Subs: Matthew Thompson for Colin Healy (inj), Billy Fitzpatrick for Oisin Hudner, Michael Murphy for Caylem O'Callaghan.

KILDORRERY: Timmy O'Sullivan, Cathal O'Sullivan, Matthew Walsh-O'Grady, Padraigh Flynn, Eoin Hartnett, David Hunter 1-0, Jack McNamara, Conor Kent, Kieran Hurley 1-0, Sean Cunninghan, Luke Keating 0-9 (5f 1 ‘65’), Padraigh Harrington, Sean Watson, Fionn Walsh-O’Grady, Matthew Fitzgibbon. Subs: Liam McMillan for Mattew Fitzgibbon, Killian Cronin for Eoin Hartnett.

Referee: Denis Motherway (Ballygiblin)