Tuesday 20 February 2018

Late Linehan goal gives Mill Rovers victory

Mill Rovers 1 - 7 Blackwater Rovers 0 - 9

Under 21 B FC

BLACKWATER Rovers did very well in this O'Sullivan-Lewis Under 21 B FC game at Glanworth on Saturday.

A goal for Mill Rovers in injury time proved to be the clinching score. Eoin O'Regan with a lst minute pointed free opened the Mill Rovers account. Blackwater Rovers came very strong they defended very well and Liam Cronin edged them ahead with two points. Further pressure saw Sam O'Driscoll and Liam Cronin (free) open up a lead 0-4 to 0-1 after just nine minutes.

Mill Rovers improved greatly in midfield where Brian O'Reilly and Eoin O'Regan excelled. They had three points in quick succession to be level 0-4 each by the 20th minute. Exchanges were very close and tense up to the break with defences on top. In the closing moments Richard Hallihan gave the Shanballymore-Castletownroche side the lead with a fine point. On the stroke of half-time Fintan Linehan soloed through from over 30 yards and kicked a massive point for the Ballyhooly-Killavullen combination. The sides were deadlocked at the break 0-5 each.

Mill Rovers did well on the changeover with Niall Barry edging them ahead. Blackwater forced level for the fourth time by Liam Cronin. Blackwater edged in front when Jamie Collins placed the inrushing Eoin Sheehan for a very good point and when Tom O'Regan added another in the 47th minute they looked like holding out being ahead 0-8 to 0- 6. Mill Rovers with a pointed free cut the lead to a single point but Blackwater with a 54th minute point by Stephen Rice regained the two point lead.

Mill Rovers battled back well and James Linehan struck the winning goal in the dying moments to see them through to the knockout stages.

MILL ROVERS: R Tracey, B O'Regan, C Drinan, C O'Donovan, S Mullane, E McHugh, T Barrett, B O'Reilly 0-1, E O'Regan 0-3f, R Relihan R Hallihan 0-2, J Linehan 1-0, A O'Donovan, N Barry 0-1 R Quirke. Sub J Ladd for R Relihan

BLACKWATER ROVERS: G Lane, P Leahy, P Cronin, P Aherne, F Linehan 0-1, S Linehan, D Roche, E Sheehan 0-1, L Cronin 0-4 (0-1f) S O'Driscoll 0-1, T O'Regan 0-1, D O'Brien, J Collins, S Rice 0-1, S O'Mahony. Subs S Magner for S O'Mahony, S McGrath for S Magner (inj) G Nyhan for S McGrath

Referee: Dave O'Farrell (Mitchelstown)


Promoted Links

Promoted Links