Sunday 20 October 2019

Kanturk have no answer to surging Fermoy

County PIFC Round 3: Fermoy 3-8 Kanturk 0-5

Pat Ryan

Fermoy proved too crafty for Kanturk in the this Round 3 game at Kildorrery on Saturday night under lights.

The winners dominated from the early stages. A foul on Ruairí O'Hagan produced an opening score a pointed free by Ronan O'Callaghan. Good play by Kyrl Holland and John McLoughlan led to a Kanturk point by Ian Walsh. Kanturk

lost Ryan Walsh to injury early on and they were reduced to fourteen players in the ninth minute. Fermoy had a goal when Ruairi O'Hagan and Ronan O'Callaghan worked well for Jack Hutchings who placed the in-rushing Martin Brennan who netted.

Both sides had some wides before Martin Brennan with a point edged Fermoy 1-2 to 0-1 clear after 24 minutes. John Browne followed with a Kanturk point. Throughout the game Kanturk created many chances, but were unable to breach a very solid Fermoy half-back line.

O'Hagan followed with a pointed free. In the 28th minute good play by Shane Aherne led to Ruairi O'Hagan edging the winners 1-4 to 0-2 clear by half time. In the first half Fermoy had seven wides, while Kanturk had three.

On the resumption Kanturk had an early pointed free by Cian Clernon. Shane Aherne replied soon after. Kanturk lacked scoring power with the Fermoy defence outstanding.

Impressive Tomás Clancy edged Fermoy six points ahead. Kanturk had just one point in the third quarter. In the 43rd minute Padraigh de Roiste had a very good point for the winners.

Four minutes later good play by James Fitzpatrick and Paul Walsh led a fine Ian Walsh point. Kanturk keeper Jordan Fullerton saved well from Kieran Morrisson who had been put through by Shane Aherne.

Kieran Morrisson followed with a punched Fermoy point. Late goals for Fermoy by Padraigh de Roiste and Martin Brennan sealed a comfortable win for Fermoy and a place in the county quarter-final against Bantry Blues.

FERMOY: L Coleman, P Clancy, J Daly, J Pyne, B O'Sullivan, D O'Carroll, A Baragry, J Hutchings, R McEvoy, S Aherne 0-1, D Dawson, T Clancy 0-1, M Brennan 2-1, R O'Hagan 0-2 (0-1f), R O'Callaghan 0-1f Subs: P de Roiste 1-1 for R McEvoy, K Morrisson 0-1 for R O'Callaghan, D O'Flynn for J Hutchings, A Aherne for D Dawson, E Clancy for J Pyne

KANTURK: J Fullerton, L O'Neill, D Browne, J Carver, R Walsh, J Browne 0-1, J McLoughlan, J Fitzpatrick, A Walsh, M Healy, P Walsh, K Holland, I Walsh 0-3 (0-1f), C Clernon 0-1f, L McLoughlan Subs: A O'Keeffe for R Walsh (inj) L O'Keeffe for K Holland, E Geaney for A O'Keeffe, C Mullane for C Clernon

Referee: Pa O'Driscoll (Bride Rovers)