Friday 14 December 2018

Heavy defeat for St Fanahans by Coláiste Muire Cobh

Cork Colleges Senior D HC final: Colaiste Muire Cobh 9-15 St Fanahans Mitchelstown 1-2

Colaiste Muire (Cobh) were comprehensive winners over St Fanahan's Mitchelstown in the Cork Colleges Senior D HC final at the 4G pitch in Pairc Ui Chaoimh on Wednesday.

From the start the winners gained supremacy against the stiff breeze. St Fanahan's defence were under pressure all through. Josh Irwin in goal made some splendid saves despite conceding nine goals.

Cobh used the short passing to very good effect and they took some good scores. Jason Hayes was in outstanding form accounting for 5-3 before being replaced. Other goal scorers in the first half for Cobh were Diarmuid Kearney, Cian O'Rourke and Matthew Pender. St Fanahan's two points were from frees by Adam Gubbins. At the break the winners led 8 -7 to 0-2.

Cobh made five substitutions on the changeover. They continued to do well. George Keating struck four excellent points in this half. They had their 9th goal by Ryan Kenny midway through the half as they moved 9-10 to 0-2 clear.

St Fanahans had a late goal by Anthony Crowley but there was no denying Cobh their easy victory. After the game Edmund Cronin Secretary Cork Colleges GAA presented the Cup to the winning captain Pa Carey.

COLAISTE MUIRE COBH: J Bates, J Donovan 0-1, N Wilk, S Darmody, D Roche, P Carey 0-1f. (capt) C Lynch, G Keating 0-4 D Kearney 1-2, J Hayes 5-3, C Lynch, E Kidney, C O'Rourke 1-0, J Hamilton 0-1 M Pender Subs: R Kenny 1-0, for C Lynch, A Stanton 0-1 for M Pender 1-1 S Kidney for E Kidney, L O'Callaghan for C O'Rourke, J McCormack for S Darmody, S Meade for J Hayes, O Cronin 0-1 for J Donovan

ST. FANAHAN'S MITCHELSTOWN: J Irwin (Ballygiblin) J Keeffe (Garryspillane) P Hartnett (Kildorrery) R O'Sullivan (do) E Hartnett (do) B Condon (Ballygiblin) P Finn (Kilara Og) S Masterson (Glanworth) P Murphy (Ballygiblin) R Hannon (Kildorrery) J McCarthy (Ballygiblin) J Connolly (do) S Crowley (do) A Crowley 1-0 (Kildorrery) A Gubbins 0-2f. (Ballygiblin) Subs: J Aherne (Ballygiblin) for E Hartnett, J O'Brien (do) for R Hannon, C Russell (do) for P Murphy, P Murphy for B Condon (inj)

Referee: Brian Coniry (Crosshaven)