| 12.7°C Dublin

First time victory for Croke Rovers in Brian Cronin Cup


Croke Rovers winners of the Brian Cronin Cup Final at Dromtarriffe Photo by John Tarrant

Croke Rovers winners of the Brian Cronin Cup Final at Dromtarriffe Photo by John Tarrant

Croke Rovers winners of the Brian Cronin Cup Final at Dromtarriffe Photo by John Tarrant



Croke Rovers 1-8

Kilmurry 2-4

Croke Rovers edged a single point victory over Kilmurry in a high scoring epic in the Dromtarriffe promoted Under 11 Football Blitz for the Brian Cronin Memorial Cup.

This is Cork Newsletter

Cork's essential reads in local news and sport, straight to your inbox every week

This field is required

Sixteen teams drawn from Avondhu, Imokilly, Muskerry and Duhallow competed in the preliminary rounds operating in a round robin league played on four pitches.

Munster championship excitement was waved aside as the young boys and girls involved returned the maximum in the commitment stakes as the action ebbed and flowed left and right.

Ultimately, teams from Duhallow had reason to feel satisfied to land the spoils on offer. Open and attacking paved the way for Croke Rovers in the premier decider and on doing so, the Castlemagner and Kilbrin combination powered to victory for a first time triumph following a thrill a minute spectacle.

Little separated the sides in the opening half, all square at 0-4 apiece by the interval with goalkeepers Fiachra Buckley and Jamie Holden in splendid form at either end. Croke Rovers resumed with a purpose, a goal from Mark Cronin and further scores helped build up a five point advantage.

However, Kilmurry cranked up the intensity and a rewarding spell yielded goals in quick succession from Lochlin Buckley and Peter Keane to nudge ahead. The closing stages could scarcely have been more intense, a point from Cronin helped tie up the game.

And in a welter of excitement, captain fantastic Cronin split the uprights for the Rovers match-winner.

A delighted Duarigle Gaels captain Mark Cronin accepted the Brian Cronin Memorial Trophy from Fiona Cronin.

CROKE ROVERS: Fiachra Buckley, Daniel Daly, Jack Lynch, Dylan Cott, Ryan Casey, Mark Cronin, Jack Lucey, Clayton Mackey, Katie Hourigan, Billy O’Callaghan, Fionn Mernagh Subs: Troy Mackey, Cian O’Riordan, Jonah Scanlon, Dara O’Sullivan, Alex Woods, Dylan McMahon, Finn Quinlan, Conor Taylor, Scott Reilly, Eli O’Sullivan, Adam Carroll, Billy Hayes

KILMURRY: Jamie Holden; Fred O’Donovan, Oisín O’Sullivan, Loughlin Buckley, Peter Keane, Cormac O’Leary, Adam O’Leary, Lauren Murphy, Mark Donoughue, Rory O’Reilly, Eddie Flynn Subs: John Murray, David Crowley, Max Murphy, Fiachra Murphy

REFEREE: M J O’Keeffe (Dromtarriffe)