Thursday 20 June 2019

Féile na nGael visitors assured of a warm welcome from Cork clubs

John Tarrant

Cork and Kerry juvenile GAA clubs are uniting this weekend to host the prestigious John West Féile na Gael.

A massive number of 256 teams are participating involving thousands of players and coaches. The breakdown sees 80 hurling and 48 camogie 'home' sides, matched with travelling teams from all over the country making their way to Cork or Kerry for a bumper weekend.

With close on 8,000 players in addition to mentors and spectators, it makes for one of the largest ever gathering of underage players at any one series of games in the history of the GAA.

Players will be hosted by families from the home sides and games will commence on Friday afternoon, continuing on Saturday morning with the finals on Sunday, at both cup and shield level.

This is the fourth year that John West will sponsor the under 14 tournament and they are delighted to announce the extension of this sponsorship till 2022. Throughout its promotion of Féile, John West has focused on encouraging children to participate in Gaelic Games while emphasising the importance natural protein plays in fuelling a young athlete.

Speaking at the announcement, John West General Manager Peter Rooney said: "We are delighted to be here in Cork and to extend our partnership with Féile until 2022. The competitions highlight the importance of sport in children's lives, which is something John West is truly passionate about, and it also allows us to educate on the importance of natural protein in children's diet," said Mr. Rooney.

Host clubs from North and Mid Cork are Shandrum, Fermoy, Mallow, Bride Rovers, Ballincollig, Inniscarra, St Catherine's, Kilara Óg, Clyda Rovers, Blarney, Charleville, Whitechurch, Eire Og, Aghabullogue, Ballygiblin, Kanturk, Buttevant, Donoughmore, Grenagh, Killavullen, Carrig na bhFear, Cloughduv, Ballinora, St Mark's, Croke Rovers, Castlelyons and Laochra Óg.

The preliminary round games operate on Friday (5.30pm/7pm) and Saturday (10am) with the knockout stages on Saturday afternoon and all Finals are scheduled for Sunday.