Wednesday 17 January 2018

Ducon wins for Boherbue and Knocknagree

Boherbue's Kevin Murphy lays off the ball agaimst Millstreet in the Ducon Cup. Picture John Tarrant.
Boherbue's Kevin Murphy lays off the ball agaimst Millstreet in the Ducon Cup. Picture John Tarrant.

Ducon Cup

Boherbue 0-14

Millstreet 1-10

A LATE surge earned Boherbue a narrow win over Millstreet in the Ducon Cup played in Boherbue.

With the verdict in doubt right up to the full time whistle, an all important point from Jerry O'Connor helped the hosts shade the outcome.

Millstreet had stormed to the front direct from the off and boosted on a Tadhg Collins goal in their initial attack. Gradually Boherbue asserted themselves through the key play of O'Connor, Kieran O'Connell, Niall Murphy and James Casey.

Five points without reply signalled Boherbue's intentions yet they failed to maximise possession. That allowed Millstreet back into the hunt, points to James Broxton and Collins tied up the game 1-4 to 0-7.

Though Boherbue regained the advantage upon the resumption, Millstreet kept probing through Paul Sheehan, Alan Murphy and the accuracy of Collins. Coming up to the finish, Boherbue trailed by a slender point.

A white flag from McCarthy squared matters before O'Connor kicked the matchwinner late in the proceedings.

BOHERBUE: D Cremin; M O'Connor, K O'Connell, T Murphy; J O'Connor 0-3, N Murphy, D Buckley; C O'Riordan, K Murphy; J Casey 0-3, D McCarthy 0-3, K Cremin 0-1,. A O'Connor 0-3, M O'Gorman 0-1, P Murphy

MILLSTREET: D Twomey; D O'Riordan, B O'Flynn, P Randles; C Lane, P Sheehan, T Kiely, A Murphy, C Sheehan; D McCaul, M Murphy, L Murphy, F Corcoran, J Broxton, T Collins Subs: D Murphy, D Kiely

Referee: D Casey (Scartaglin)

Knocknagree 2-8

Lyre 2-6

HOLDERS Knocknagree snatched victory from the jaws of defeat on relying on Daniel Murphy netting a late goal to overcome Lyre in a thrilling Ducon Cup in Banteer.

Earlier Knocknagree had looked a beaten docket on trailing by seven points, Lyre off to the perfect start from a goal netted by Cathal McHugh and the solid play of Brendan Withers. Sean O'Connor and Martin Kearney.

Knocknagree had taken a time to settle but points to Shane O'Connor and Matthew Daly trimmed the arrears 1-5 to 0-4 at the break.

The momentum remained with Knocknagree upon the restart, the effective Gary O'Connor, Seán Daly, Tomas Cooper and Anthony O'Connor at the heart of good play.

A goal to Andrew Sheehan pushed Knocknagree ahead for the first time. Lyre anwered, Knocknagree relying on 'keeper Patrick Doyle to produce a fine save. Keeping up the chase, Lyre regained the lead from a Tadgh Twomey goal.

Knocknagree never relented and finished on a positive note for Murphy to raise the match winning green flag in the closing stages.

KNOCKNAGREE: P Doyle; T O'Mahony, S Daly, G O'Connor; D Moynihan, K Daly, D Cooper; T Cooper, P Collins; D Murphy 1-0, A O'Connor 0-1, F O'Connor 0-2; S O'Connor 0-1, M Daly 0-4, A Sheehan 1-0 Subs: D Murphy, P Dineen

LYRE: Tim Murphy; E Buckley, J McSweeney. J McAulliffe; F Murphy, B Withers, S O'Connor; K Roche, P Ryan; Timmie Murphy, M Kearney, P O'Keeffe 0-2, C McHugh 1-0, K McGeogh, D Roche 0-4 Sub: T Twomey 1-0

Referee: D Carroll (Kanturk)


Promoted Links

Promoted Links