Wednesday 24 January 2018

Crokes hit extra-time offensive over Dromtariffe

CROKE Rovers survived the blustery conditions and the determined chellenge of Dromtariffe ina gripping first-round clash in Mallow.

Duhallow U21 'B' FC,

First Round

Croke Rovers 3-13

Dromtariffe 2-10 (AET)


The wind factor ensured spells of dominance for either side yet in extra time Rovers emerged slicker and more ruthless than their opponents. Dromtariffe deserve kudos too on erasing a 10 point interval deficit to force the game into extra time.

However Crokes recovered their composure and goals from substitutes Niall Field and Seán O'Callaghan sealed the deal. The Castlemagner and Kilbrin combination were switched on straight from the start and availed of the solid workrate of Brendan O'Mahony, Daniel Sheahan, Conor Murphy and Eoin Sheahan to dominate the key areas.

Their position was enhanced by Donal Lyons' goal to forge ahead 1-8 to 0-1 at the break.

Dromtariffe threw caution to the wind upon the resumption and positional changes added to their impetus, directed by the efforts of Conor O'Donoughue, Danny Mullane, Daniel O'Keeffe and Mark O'Connor. A goal to Mullane provided ample encouragement culminating on a second goal to O'Donoughue tied up the prceedings 2-5 to 1-8.

Into extra-time, Rovers countered against the elements and a Field goal secured a 2-11 to 2-10 lead by the change of the ends.

In fairness, Dromtariffe never gave up the chase but Rovers put the issue beyond doubt from a clinching goal netted by O'Callaghan.

CROKE ROVERS: J Corkery; E Ryan, M Sheahan, C Glavin; D O'Mahony, B O'Mahony, M O'Sullivan; D Sheahan 0-3, D Lyons 1-0; S Tobin 0-1, E Sheahan 0-7, C Murphy 0-1, S Gallagher, E Murphy 0-1, T Murphy. Subs: N Field 1-0 for Gallagher, J Sherlock for Corkery, S O'Callaghan 1-0 for T Murphy.

DROMTARIFFE: M O'Shea, P O'Callaghan, C O'Donoughue 1-0, C O'Callaghan; D Crowley, D Mullane 1-0, D O'Shea; A Buckley 0-1, D O'Connor 0-4; D O'Donoughue, D O'Keeffe 0-4, S O'Riordan 0-1, D Drake, S Howard, M O'Connor.

Referee: Gee Moran (Banteer)


Promoted Links

Promoted Links