Thursday 19 April 2018

Cork legend Noel O'Leary salutes Boherbue lady footballers

John Tarrant

BOHERBUE Ladies Football Club relived the highlights of the past year at their celebratory function hosted in the Dromhall Hotel, Killarney. Present to salute another terrific season for the flourishing Duhallow club was former Cork football great Noel O'Leary.

Again Boherbue enjoyed a winning commitment during the past year on reaching new heights for a young side.Having won county, provincial and runners up at Junior level in 2012, Boherbue promoted to intermediate ranks during 2013 met with a productive return. Indeed, Boherbue did what was expected of them enroute, capturing a competitive county title on holding the power and the teamwork to better Valley Rovers in the decider. And the winning sequence continued into Munster, easing their way past Kilmurry Ibrickane (Clare) and Dunhill (Waterford) to reach the decider. Boherbue's toughest test emerged yet they denied Aherlow of Tipperary thanks to a late flourish.

A long trek to Tuam to face local side and eventual All Ireland champions Claregalway denied Boherbue in the semi final. In the overall analysis, Boherbue's steady progress through underage ranks is proving rich dividends and the satisfaction of securing senior status for 2014.

Special guest Noel O'Leary told the gathering the growth of ladies football amongst clubs throughout the count is stemming from Cork's onward march.

"The success at inter county level and Cork's dominance on collecting eight All Ireland titles has heightened interest in clubs. Boherbue is a prime example on prospering from underage and becoming the top team in Cork and Munster at both Junior and intermediate levels," he said.

The Cill na Martra native had the satisfaction of presenting medals to the triumphant panel led by team captain Sinéad Heelan. And a trojan servant to Boherbue Ladies Football merited Sheila Vaughan the Club Person of the Year Award.

MC Jerome Casey extended congratulations to the team panel and management for their extraordinary dedication on elevating the club to senior ranks for 2014. And a special thanks was extended to retiring Club Chairman Seán Kelly, replaced by capable club official Richard Dennehy.